Gaylord, Hansen get IMCA Modified wins in first, 109th career Wild West Tour starts

ROCK SPRINGS, Wy. (June 19-20) – A driver making his first-ever tour start and a driver who’s never missed a tour event were weekend IMCA Modified winners at Sweetwater Speedway.  Tripp Gaylord topped the Friday night 1st Class Chassis Wild West Tour feature, returning to Rock Springs to redress a runner-up finish on night two of May’s Rudy Yeager Memorial. Chase Hansen was the Saturday winner, collecting his career third checkers, and first since 2014, in his 109th tour start. Both drivers earned $1,200 and saw their names added to the Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot.  After starting fifth, Gaylord found the middle line to his liking on Friday. He passed Ricky Alvarado and Braxton Yeager for the lead following a restart and stayed in front to the end of the 30-lapper.  “It feels like it’s been years trying to get that big out-of-state win,” said Gaylord, who’d run second to Alvarado in the Yeager Memorial finale. “We knew there would be a lot of good cars there and it turned out to be a very good [Read More]