Wilson tops stout Boyd field for Texas Sprint Series win

BOYD, Texas (May 29) – The higher line took Chad Wilson to the front of the Texas Sprint Series feature field Friday at Boyd Raceway. The lower line kept him there.  Wilson started the IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Car 20-lapper from ninth, found a line to his liking higher up on the oval and passed Brandon Howle for the lead before midway.  He moved to lower grooves from that point and won ahead of Lucas Scherb and Logan Scherb.  Zane Lawrence and Jeb Sessums completed the top five. Thirty-six cars vied in the second TSS show of the season.  “It was a stout field for sure and definitely one of the most fun races I’ve been in,” Wilson said following his first win of 2020.  Feature results – 1. Chad Wilson; 2. Lucas Scherb; 3. Logan Scherb; 4. Zane Lawrence; 5. Jeb Sessums; 6. Cody Whitworth; 7. Austin Burkham; 8. Brandon Howle; 9.Casey Merrell; 10. Cale Cozad; 11. Justin Melton; 12. Josh Harner; 13. Austin Saunders; 14. Jordan Rupe; 15. Jett Hays; 16. Michelle Parson; 17. Jerrad [Read More]


42 teams set to blast off in Texas Sprint Series Tony Hernandez Memorial opener By Darin Short

KENNEDALE, Texas – The Texas Sprint Series season opens with the Tony Hernandez Memorial at Kennedale Speedway Park Saturday, March 7.  Forty-two TSS teams have pre-entered to show their support for the Hernandez family and friends in attendance at the IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Car event.  Hernandez was the TSS founder and passed away after his courageous battle with cancer on Jan. 31 and the series and teams will honor him during opening ceremonies.  Series drivers are reminded to read all the information under the Drivers/Rules link at  The draw-cutoff/drivers’ meeting is slated for 5:30 p.m., with hot laps at 6 p.m. and racing at 7 p.m. The lidlifter at Kennedale features IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars, Smiley’s Racing Products Southern SportMods and Mach-1 Sport Compacts.