Sprint foes at Hagerstown can’t keep up with Jones

Jonathon Jones was the winner of the Easter Eve IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Car feature co-sanctioned by the Virginia Sprint Series and Laurel Highlands Sprint Series at Hagerstown Speedway. (Photo by Jim Haines)

HAGERSTOWN, Md. (April 20) – Jonathon Jones wasn’t sure he would make the trip to Hager­stown Speedway until Saturday morning, but he sure made it worthwhile by topping the field of 23 IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Cars for the win that evening.

Christian Rumsey challenged but ran out of laps and settled for second in the main event, co-sanc­tioned by the Virginia Sprint Series and Laurel Highland Sprint Series. 

Tyler Denochick and Jones paced the feature field to green. Jones stayed up high and that would be the magic line as he kept his car smooth and fast with Rumsey quickly challenging for second.

Rumsey lost that spot to Drew Ritchey for a few laps before regaining the position and set off af­ter Jones. Denochick and Ryan Lynn had a long-term battle for fourth as most other positions continued to change throughout the field.  

Rumsey reeled in Jones as the laps counted down but couldn’t catch up before the checkers flew.

Ritchey was third with Denochick and Lynn rounding out the top five. 

Next, the Laurel Highlands Sprint Series will try again Friday, April 26 at Clinton County Motor Speedway after two rainouts in a row to start the season at the Lock Haven, Pa., speedplant.

The Virginia Sprint Series is back at Shenandoah Speedway on Saturday, April 27. 

Feature results – 1. Jonathon Jones; 2. Christian Rumsey; 3. Drew Ritchey; 4. Tyler Denochick; 5. Ryan Lynn; 6. Scott Lutz; 7. Michael Allerman; 8. Brad Mellott; 9. Ron Aurand; 10. Randy Ster­ling; 11. Tom Humphries; 12. Donny Hendershot; 13. Tony Harris; 14. Daren Bolac; 15. Reed Thompson; 16. Jerald Harris; 17. Charlie Ware; 18. Matthew Kline; 19. Chris Ware; 20. Ben McCall; 21. Bill Rice; 22. Jake Karklin; 23. Neil Sandridge.