Long trip to Arlington pays off for Sprint winner Smith 

ARLINGTON, Minn. (July 22) – Trevor Smith made the 2-1/2 hour trek to Arlington Raceway pay off, leading all 15 laps of Saturday’s 95.7 the Rock IMCA RaceSaver Sprint car feature for his ca­reer-first win in the division. It was a proud moment for his father Jim, who was track champion in 1988 at Arlington, where he motored his no. 33s sprint car around the ½-mile and picked up his own first feature win 29 years ago. Brian Loscheider picked up an extra bounty of $50 by ending Cory Probst’s streak of 10 Premier Logistics IMCA Hobby Stock wins in as many events. Dave Moriarty ran three-wide with Brad Lange and Matt Speckman before taking the B & B Rac­ing Chassis IMCA Stock Car win by a margin measured in inches. Jeff Lloyd topped the Unhinged Pizza IMCA Northern SportMod main. Tyler Limoges led every lap of the Minnesota 93 IMCA Modified feature while Ryan Bryant was the third and final Coors Light IMCA Sport Compact leader.


Thies tops IMCA Modified main at Raceway Park

JEFFERSON, S.D. (July 23) – Jim Thies pulled away in the waning laps to win Sunday’s Total Motor IMCA Modified feature at Raceway Park. Jason Schneiders was a close second. Ricky Stephan, Justin Zeitner and Nick Lakes rounded out the top five. Travis Barker led Jason Ward across the stripe in the Casey’s General Store IMCA Stock Car feature while Craig Clift raced through the field for the Golden Auto IMCA Hobby Stock win. Dave Kennedy captured the KCAU IMCA Northern SportMod checkers while Daniel Vanderveen prevailed in the Z98 IMCA Sport Compact feature.


Point battles tighten at Lexington

By Anthony Ainslie LEXINGTON, Neb. (July 24) – Point battles continued to tighten Sunday at Lexington Raceway. David Murray Jr. led 19 of the 20 laps to add another IMCA Modified win to his resume. He took the lead on lap two after Charles Stryker led the opening lap and never looked back. IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars were back in action and Mike Nichols led 15 of 20 laps en route to an­other feature victory. Cole Egge took early command of the Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod main and led the first seven laps before Trent Roth took over with 13 laps to go. Roth led until the eight to go mark when Jarred Hackler made the pass for the lead. From there, it was all Hackler. In the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks, Lexington Raceway saw a first-time winner as Allyn Meyers led all 15 laps while holding off four very strong competitors. Another first-time winner on the season came in the Mach-1 Sport Compact feature. Justin Smallcomb led the way in the 10-lap feature until [Read More]


Gill becomes latest IMCA Modified winner at Southern Oregon

By Don Martin II WHITE CITY, Ore. (July 22) – Albert Gill won the 20-lap IMCA Modified main event Saturday at Southern Oregon Speedway, becoming the fifth different winner in as many races at White City. Prior to the races, Gill declared that he is indeed racing for his third championship in the last four seasons. Preston Jones set the early pace in his bid for a first career win while Ray Kniffen Jr. ran second in front of Gill before spinning for a lap five caution flag. Three restarts later, Gill made his move on Jones with an inside pass on the back stretch. Gill maintained his lead through numerous late restarts and was a happy winner ahead of Matt Duste. Both the IMCA Modifieds and Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMods return on Aug. 12 as part of Hall of Fame Night.


Gould gets IMCA Modified win at Tri-State

By Rob Nugent POCOLA, OK (July 21) – Ronny Gould raced to his first IMCA Modified win at Tri-State Speedway this season on Friday night. Michael Hines was second and Jason Payton took third.


Rookies score first wins on Racing For a Reason Night at Shawano

By Scott Owen SHAWANO, Wis. (July 22) – A great crowd turned out in support of the seventh annual Racing For a Reason Night Saturday at Shawano Speedway. The event raises money for local childhood cancer charities. On the track, 14-year-old Jayden Schmidt stole the show by battling with some of the best around to win his first local Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod feature. IMCA Modified rookie J.J. Andersen also looked like a seasoned veteran en route to his first win in the division while Dan Michonski notched his second IMCA Sunoco Stock Car win of the year.


Hollenbeck hoists Crystal hardware 

CRYSTAL, Mich. (July 22) – Saturday’s Lane Automotive IMCA Modified event at Crystal Motor Speedway saw Brady Hollenbeck take his second feature win of the season. Runner-up in a tight race to the checkers was Nick Stormzand. Mitchell Hunt, Chad Wernette and Justin Wonch rounded out the top five.


Shebester holds on for first career Sprint Series of Oklahoma victory

By David Smith Jr. ELK CITY, Okla. (July 22) – Steven Shebester took the lead at the start, then held off a fast-clos­ing Joe Wood Jr. at the end to win the Sprint Series of Oklahoma feature Saturday at Elk City Speed­way. The IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Car series victory was his career first. Shebester started on the front row for the 25-lap feature and took the lead as the green flag fell. The Mustang, Okla., driver had his hands full with defending national and series champion Andy Shouse as the frontrunners approached traffic near midway. Shebester handled lapped traffic while Shouse had his hands full with Wood. Wood, who took over the runner-up position and set his sights on the leader. Gunning for his second feature victory in a row and third career, Wood got a run underneath the leader coming out of turn four on the last lap. Shebester held on for his first career victory in only his fifth start piloting a Sprint Car. Wood settled for second while Shouse came home third. [Read More]


Beatrice Speedway hosts Gage County Fair special

BEATRICE, Neb. (July 25) – Sunday night racing at Beatrice Speedway sports a $1,000 to win IMCA Modified main event at the July 30 Gage County Fair special. The 2018 Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot qualifier is complemented by IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars, IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks and Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMods, all running for $500 to win, and Mach-1 Sport Compacts vying for a $250 top check. There is no entry fee for the draw/redraw show. IMCA Speedway Motors Weekly Racing National, regional and Allstar Performance State, but no local track points will be awarded. Pit gates open at 4 p.m. and the grandstand opens at 4:30 p.m. Hot laps are at 5:30 p.m. and racing starts at 6 p.m. Spectator admission is $10 for adults, $5 for kids ages 6-11 and free for five and under. Pit passes are $25. More information is available by calling 402 239-9073.


Davis, Stief split MASS features at Bridgeport

By Erika Palmai Wagner BRIDGEPORT, N.J. (July 21) – The Mid-Atlantic Sprint Series had a first-time feature winner and its first repeat victor of the season Friday at Bridgeport Speedway. Bryant Davis scored his first career IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Car win in make-up feature from June 17 while Rick Stief, who finished second to Davis in that race, visited victory lane for the second time this season in the nightcap. Davis was rightfully thrilled while celebrating with his father Bruce in victory lane, saying “We were so frustrated with this car before this feature, my dad almost stuck a ‘for sale’ sign on her with a $500 price tag on it. This couldn’t have come at a better time for us. I’m just so happy that we finally got this win.” Davis led the entire race, holding off Stief following multiple cautions. At one point, the pair ran side by side for a nail-biting two laps, but it was Davis who would come out on top using the bottom line after Stief was running on [Read More]