Nodak show sees Thornton, Zevenbergen win again

MINOT, N.D. (July 12) – The battle was for second place on night three of the Dakota Classic Modified Tour. Ricky Thornton Jr. started on the pole and stayed in front every time around the Nodak Speed­way oval, earning $2,400 for his latest IMCA Modified tour checkers. He was catching up with the back of the field just after midway when the caution came out and took traffic temporarily out of the equation. The top five pulled away after the ensuing restart and while Thornton was lapping cars the final five circuits, Austin Arneson, Jason Wolla, Eddie Belec and Spencer Wilson could not catch the leader and followed him across the stripe on that order. Elijah Zevenbergen ran his streak to three straight IMCA Sunoco Stock Car tour checkers. Chanse Hollatz and Dalton Flory took turns at the point before Zevenbergen gained the lead 10 laps in. Feature Results Modifieds – 1. Ricky Thornton Jr.; 2. Austin Arneson; 3. Jason Wolla; 4. Eddie Belec; 5. Spencer Wil­son; 6. Robert Hellebust; 7. John Corell; 8. Billy Kendall [Read More]


Thornton steals the show at Nodak

By Jackson Braun MINOT, N.D. (July 7) – Ricky Thornton Jr. may have had the worst redraw of the IMCA Modified heat race winners at Nodak Speedway, but he maneuvered his 20RT machine through the field and grabbed a cool $2,400 check in Sunday’s second installment of the Kupper Chevrolet Dakota Classic Tour. The 2015 tour champion started outside row four alongside the winner of the opener at Jamestown, Tom Berry Jr. Chris Schroeder and Iowa wheelman Justin O’Brien led the field to green. O’Brien tried to get a jump on Schroeder, but Schroeder took the field by surprise and powered his machine below O’Brien’s back into the top spot.  Racing action was fierce in between the cautions. Lucas Schott challenged O’Brien for second early on. Schott and O’Brien had a handful of cars to fend off, as the likes of Thornton, Berry, Jason Wolla, Hunter Marriott and Robert Hellebust contended for top five positioning. On a restart after the halfway point in the race, Thornton got a couple good runs in the corners and [Read More]


30th annual Kupper Chevrolet Dakota Classic Tour starts Saturday in Jamestown

JAMESTOWN, N.D. – IMCA Modified and IMCA Sunoco Stock Car drivers from 12 states and Can­ada have already pre-registered for the 30th annual Kupper Chevrolet Dakota Classic Tour. The tour starts its six consecutive day run Saturday, July 6 at Jamestown Speedway. The Tour then goes to Nodak Speedway at Minot on Sunday, July 7. On Monday, July 8, the series travels across the international border to Estevan, Sask., Motor Speedway.  Williston Basin Speedway is the next stop on Tuesday, July 9. The series then heads to South­west Speedway in Dickinson on Wednesday, July 10. Dacotah Speedway in Mandan hosts Champion­ship Night on Thursday, July 11, and the Corral Sales Legendary 50 on Friday, July 12. All Modified features pay $2,400 to win and are qualifying events for the 2019 Fast Shafts All-Star Invi­tational ballot, while all Stock Car features pay $800 to win. The Legendary 50 pays a record $10,004 to win the IMCA Modified feature, another 2019 Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot qualifier. More than $120,000 in payout is offered for the tour [Read More]


Marriott goes back-to-back with Nodak win, Zevenbergen rules Dakota Tour Stock Cars 

By Mike Spieker MINOT, N.D. (July 8) – Hunter Marriott looks poised to back up last year’s Kupper Chevrolet Dakota Classic IMCA Modified Tour championship. The Brookfield, Mo., driver claimed the $2,454 IMCA Modified win Sunday at Nodak Speedway for his second win in as many nights. Things heated up at halfway as both Ricky Thornton Jr. and Marriott got a run on leader Michael Greseth down the backstretch, which made for a three-wide race for the lead into turn three. Marriott went from third to the point as Thornton drifted up out of turn four and caught the wall. Greseth returned the favor on Marriott with a big slide job in turns one and two, but Marriott was able to regain the lead down the backstretch.  Once out front, Marriott checked out from the rest of the field. Behind him, a torrid battle for second continued. On lap 18, Tim Ward drove from fifth to second after getting a run off turn two. Greseth, Wolla and Thornton went three wide for third into turn three, [Read More]