Terry Phillips

Phillips’ trophy case will display four of a kind after latest IMCA Modified Duel In The Desert win

LAS VEGAS, Nev. (Nov. 11) – Nothing slowed Terry Phillips on his way to a career fourth IMCA Modified Duel In The Desert victory and a $7,777 paycheck Saturday at the Las Vegas Motor Speedway Dirt Track. Phillips led all but the first of 40 laps, nearly hitting the wall getting around traffic before pulling ahead to win nearly eight seconds ahead of Eddie Belec. The race stayed green the last 36 laps. Peyton Taylor, Johnny Scott and Cody Laney rounded out the top five finishers at the 20th annual event, the biggest of the season in IMCA’s Larry Shaw Racing Western Region. “These slick tracks, I like them. I guess I’m getting a little long in the tooth, but I’ve got a lot more left in me, probably more than most of these young kids,” said Phillips, from Springfield, Mo., and also the Duel winner in 2010, 2011 and 2014. “There were a couple lanes and I was all over this thing. It was awesome.” Arvada, Colo., speedsters Belec and Dominic Ursetta made up [Read More]


Belec, Phillips top Thursday Duel In The Desert IMCA Modified qualifying features

LAS VEGAS, Nev. (Nov. 9) – Eddie Belec and Terry Phillips were IMCA Modified qualifying fea­ture winners on Thursday, opening night of the 20th annual Duel In The Desert at Las Vegas Mo­tor Speedway. Belec outran a charging Cody Laney to top the first qualifier on the LVMS half-mile Dirt Track while Phillips, a three-time Duel winner, pulled away from Ricky Thornton Jr. over the final circuits in the nightcap. Both qualifiers paid $777 to win and sent the top four to Saturday’s $7,777 to win main event. Jus­tin O’Brien and Rob Sanders also advanced from the first qualifier, Ricky Alvarado and Jason Noll from the second. Belec mastered lapped traffic and Laney found the speed he needed late in the first 25-lapper. While Belec kept an iron fist on the front spot, Laney got under Sanders and then O’Brien to take over second with five circuits to go. Belec took the checkers four car lengths ahead of Laney. Alvarado led through the first 10 circuits of the nightcap before Phillips motored by and began [Read More]

Scott Drake

Sobbing, Drake score Thursday IMCA Modified qualifiers at Duel In the Desert

LAS VEGAS, Nev. (Nov. 12) ­– Jesse Sobbing and Scott Drake hit the jackpot with Xtreme Motor Sports IMCA Modified qualifying feature wins Thursday at the Duel In The Desert. Sobbing checked out and won the first, caution-free qualifier at the Las Vegas Motor Speedway Dirt Track ahead of Terry Phillips, Kyle Strickler and Lance Mari. Drake didn’t have it as easy in the nightcap, as he crossed the line with Rodney Sanders and Bobby Hogge IV right behind. Ken Schrader held off Hunter Marriott for the fourth transfer into Saturday’s big $7,777 to win show. Both Thursday qualifiers for the Modifieds paid $777 to win. Sobbing, the Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod Duel winner in 2011, opened a quick 10 car length lead over second-running Mari. Mari, three-time and defending Duel winner Phillips and Strickler were battling for the runner-up spot by lap five. Sobbing was in another time zone and negotiating lapped traffic by lap 10. Phillips took over second on lap 15 but had nothing for Sobbing, who stayed way out front. Strickler [Read More]

Tyler Frye

Frye dominates opening night Duel qualifier for IMCA Northern SportMods

LAS VEGAS, Nev. ­(Nov. 12) – Tyler Frye will start his pursuit of another big payday at Las Vegas Motor Speedway from the pole. Frye ran away with the qualifying feature win Thursday on opening night of the Duel In The Desert. He’ll look to parlay those $500 checkers into a $1,777 victory in Saturday’s Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod main event on the half-mile Dirt Track at LVMS. The top six from Thursday’s 20-lapper advance to the big show. Frye will be joined by Chris McKellar, Kevin Johnson, Robert Elliott, Brylon Holder and Jorddon Braaten. Holder led early on Thursday, finally giving way to Frye on the ninth lap. Showing the same speed that netted him the IMCA national championship this season, Frye opened a half straightaway lead with three laps to go and won by that margin. Feature results ­– 1. Tyler Frye, Belleville, Kan.; 2. Chris McKellar, Bakersfield, Calif.; 3. Kevin Johnson, Bakersfield, Calif.; 4. Robert Elliott, Clinton, Okla.; 5. Brylon Holder, Bakersfield, Calif.; 6. Jorddon Braaten, Central Point, Ore.; 7. Shawn Harker, [Read More]