Sauerman scores first Boone win of season

Third in each of his last two Boone Speedway starts, Cory Sauerman raced to his first Friesen Performance IMCA Modified feature win of 2024 at Iowa’s Action Track on Saturday night. (Photo by Bruce Badgley, Motorsports Photography)

By Joyce Eisele 

BOONE, Iowa (June 15, 2024) – It was Farley’s Pre-owned Night at Boone Speedway on Saturday, and despite the gloomy forecast of rain/storms, it was no issue for the racing program and in particular for Cory Sauerman who took his first local Friesen Performance IMCA Modified win of the year.

Doug Smith took the honors in the IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars for the second time, and also making return visits to victory lane were Cam Reimers in the Friesen Performance IMCA Northern SportMods, Eric Knutson in the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks and Ben George in the Stealth Racing IMCA STARS Mod Lites.

The Mod Lites rolled to the track first for their 15-lap feature event.

Scott Bailey led the troops through the first seven laps of the event but seventh place starter George had quickly risen to challenge him and took command at lap eight.

Cory Sonner was reeling in George before the race was halted on lap 12 when David Bailey went for a tumble in corner four. Thankfully, he was okay, and the racing soon returned to green.

George continued his command at the front the rest of the way to the checkers and sealed his third win of the season. Sonner went second and third went to Bailey. 

The Northern SportMod 18-lap feature had more than its share of cautions and at the conclusion was under the time limit. 

Zander Keeland, the Bakersfield, Calif., driver who is racing in Iowa this summer, was the early leader but that all ended when he went for a spin on lap six, bringing out what was already the fourth stoppage of the race.

Cam Vincent inherited the lead for the restart, with Ryan Leeman, Dusty Masolini and 10th place starter Reimers in tow. Another caution flew at lap eight with Vincent still leading, but by now Reimers had taken over second.

On the restart, Reimers flew around Vincent and into the lead. The yellow rag was not done flying yet, as on lap 13 it reared its ugly head once again. Reimers was still holding down the number one position but visitor on the night, and defending Super Nationals champion, Jake Sachau was now running second.

At this point, the time limit went into effect, and it was going to be called complete when the next caution flew, or the race was completed. This time, it was green the remaining five laps to the checkers, and Reimers was able to get the victory, his third of the season. Sachau had to be content with second place, Leeman took third, Matt Avila hard charged his way from 26th (dead last) starting spot to take fourth.

Reimers was also the winner of the King of the Hill contest run earlier in the night.

It was 20 laps of Modified racing up next. Greg Elliott led from the drop of the green and was looking strong when at lap 12 he lost the handle and went for a spin in corner four, bringing out the yellow.

Paul Nagle took over the top spot with Joel Bushore, Sauerman, Russ Dickerson, and Jeremy Mills behind him.  Another caution flew on lap 14 and on the restart, Sauerman threw a successful “white castle” drive through in corner four and took over the lead.

The final circuits saw Sauerman stretch out his lead and take the comfortable win as the double checkers flew while 13th place starter Jake McBirnie made a late race rally and finished second. Third went to Nagle.

After seeing so many caution filled races earlier, it was refreshing to find the 20-lap Stock Car feature go flag to flag.

The opening laps were led by Alan VanGorp, who returned to the racing scene this year after a hiatus. Then Smith made his appearance quickly after starting eighth and took over the lead on lap six.

It was all Smith’s race from there on out as he pulled away to the comfortable win in the rest of the caution free run to the checkers. Jay Schmidt had a great race, starting 15th and dicing through the pack of cars to take the runner-up spot. VanGorp took third in his best run of the year.

The finale of the night was 15 laps of Hobby Stock racing.  

Joey Young led the field the first four circuits, but Knutson had been coming hard on the top of the track and was able to take command on lap five.  Knutson then weathered two cautions and took the win, holding off last week’s winner Braden Gifford at the finish. Seth Butler took third.

Saturday night, June 22, will be another weekly racing series with racing in all five IMCA divisions. Pits open at 4:30 p.m. and the grandstands at 5 p.m., hot laps are at 6 p.m. with racing at 7 p.m.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply