Fitz, Fisher fast in victories at Benton County Speedway

VINTON, Iowa (June 1, 2024) – Some nights you’re just fast. Trevor Fitz and Joren Fisher proved that Sunday night at Benton County Speedway.

Fitz dominated much of the Friesen Performance IMCA Modifieds presented by Wright Way Trailers and Fisher wasted little time making it to the front of the main event for IMCA Hobby Stocks presented by iHeart Radio.

In the Modified 20-lapper, Fitz pulled away at the drop of the green and built a lead in excess of four seconds before the caution flag waved just shy of midway.

On a couple ensuing restarts, Fitz again assumed command and fought off brief challenges from Cody Laney to score the victory. It was his first at The Bullring.

Laney, Troy Cordes and Troy Morris III, who all started mid-pack, completed the top four.

Fisher started outside of row four in the Hobby Stock headliner, but was challenging for the lead within the first circuit of that 15-lapper.

He assumed command a short time later after a battle with Michael Kimm, and then drove away to earn his first win of the year. Kimm, Matt Brown and Justin Wacha rounded out the top four.

Kaden Reynolds and Braden Richards swapped the top spot in an entertaining 20-lapper for IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars presented by Christie Door Company.

Richards led early while Reynolds worked through traffic from the fifth row. Reynolds secured the lead late after numerous lead changes to drive to his third win of the season. Richards ran second ahead of John Oliver Jr. and Kyle Olson.

Joe Docekal topped the Friesen Performance IMCA Northern SportMods. After assuming the early command, Docekal weathered a couple cautions to score the impressive win ahead of Tony Olson, Brett Thomas and Brady Hilmer.

Stephen Randall earned his first win of the year in the Mach-1 IMCA Sport Compacts. He topped a hard-fought battle with Nolan Tuttle and Robert Rundle to seal the victory. Spencer Roggentien ran fourth.

Michael Weber won the first feature of the year for the INEX Legends presented by Legends.Direct. The defending track champion took the lead early and held off pressure from Danny Lehmkuhl to score the win. Griffin McGrath and Kacey Korsmo completed the top four.

During intermission, the kids in attendance took part in a candy dash on the front stretch. A total of 800 Lbs of candy was up-for-grabs in the annual event.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply