Cordes, Mackenthun, Fett, Nielsen score Friday wins at Britt

Dan Mackenthun’s Friday night feature win at Hancock County Speedway was his IMCA Sunoco Stock Car career 178th. (Photo by Jane Burd, Icon Images)

By Chad Meyer

BRITT, Iowa (May 3, 2024) – Hancock County Speedway in Britt and new track manager Darin Toot lifted the lid on the 2024 IMCA Speedway Motors Weekly Racing season Friday night.

After a soggy start to the week, sunny skies greeted drivers and fans on Britt’s Main Street for Race Day on Main, with the race night sponsored by Mr. K’s Bar and Grill. Off season efforts to improve the racing surface at Britt paid off, with each main event featuring close competition and two, three and sometimes four-wide battles. 

Jacob Dahle led early in the Friesen Performance IMCA Modified feature with Troy Cordes closing quickly. When Dahle made contact with a lapped car, that opened the door for Cordes to make his move. Cordes, who could use every groove on the track, pulled away late to collect the win. Garrett Wilson and Jason Bass had strong showings to finish second and third.

In the IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars, Chad Palmer and Kevin Opheim shared row one and tussled during the first half of the feature. Dan Mackenthun ran them both down and passed Palmer late to score the win, his career 178th in the class. Troy Swearingen advanced five spots to third.

Friesen Performance IMCA Northern SportMods stole the show on this night. Charlie Stevens, Josh Appel and Alec Fett waged a three-wide war during the first two-thirds of the main. Colby Fett flew from 11th to second and the battle between the Fett’s was close at the end. Alec bested older brother Colby for first, while Stevens was third. 

Last year, Brandon Nielsen and Mike Smith finished first and second in the point standings and they were in that order throughout much of the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock feature. Nielsen tried to keep Smith behind him late and when Nielsen squeezed a little too much in turn three, Smith spun, causing a yellow. Nielsen then held off a charging Josh Sidles for the win. Jeremy Wegner ended in third.

Exciting racing action returns to the 4/10th mile Britt speed plant on Friday, May 10. Keep up with news and updates from the track on Facebook @hcspeedway.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply