Shute is victorious at Stuart’s Davis Memorial

By Josh Reynolds

STUART, Iowa (Aug. 9, 2023) – Wednesday saw the return of the Bill Davis Sr Memorial to the Karl Chevrolet of Stuart International Speedway. IMCA winners for the night were Taylor Kuehl, Jake Sachau, Todd Shute, Kolby Sabin and Skylar Pruitt.

Colton Livezey and Gage Hilgenberg brought the Friesen Performance IMCA Northern SportMods to the track with Livezey leading the first 10 laps. Kuehl marched through the field and stormed to the top spot on lap 11, driving away from the field to take her second consecutive win at the speedway.

Livezey finished second with Hilgenberg third, Bill Wears fourth and Mike Dullard fifth.

IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars were next as Sachau set the pace until a lap six yellow flew.

Buck Schafroth and Austin Bouzek held the next two spots through a few cautions but it was Sachau keeping just enough distance throughout the whole race to lead every lap and take the win.

Schafroth finished second with Bouzek third, Shay Woods fourth and Todd VanEaton fifth.

The season championship for the Friesen Performance IMCA Modifieds was in the balance and it was Shute entering with a two point lead over Chase Rudolf. Shute pulled the two pill and set sail on the high side to pace the field until a caution came out on lap seven.

Shute continued to lead after the yellow, but Josh Gilman didn’t make it easy as he stalked the leader lap by lap. Shute would hit his marks and go on to the win over Gilman, Rudolf, Brad Bergren and Martin Bennett. Shute ended with an unofficial four-point margin over Rudolf for the track title.

Mach-1 IMCA Sport Compacts were up next and it was Jake Paysen leading Sabin in the early going.

The leaders separated themselves from the pack and with two laps to go, it was anyone’s race. Paysen held the bottom side of the track and Sabin moved up about a car width, finding the traction he needed to steal the win, leading only from turn four to the checkered flag.

Paysen finished a disappointing second with Trent Reed third, Bryan Vannausdle fourth and Stephen Stiteler fifth.

Last up for feature racing were the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks with Ethan Atcheson leading the first two laps. Pruitt found his way through traffic to take the top spot on lap three over Atcheson and Solomon Bennett

The lone caution of the race came on lap four and it was Pruitt leading all the way to the end to take the win. Luke Ramsey came out on top of the battle for second with Bennett third, Joe Doran fourth and Buddy Haidsiak fifth.

The 12th and final race of the year will be on Aug. 31 with the Fever Heat special when final 2023 track champions will be decided.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply