Carter comes up big at Ron Little Memorial finale to Midwest Madness Tour at Stuart

Cayden Carter was the Ron Little Memorial IMCA Modified winner, on the final night of the Midwest Madness Tour at Stuart Speedway. (Photo by Jim Zimmerline)

By Josh Reynolds

STUART, Iowa (July 1) –One hundred and forty-four race cars came to the 22nd annual Ron Little Memorial and Karl Kustoms Midwest Madness Tour program at Stuart Speedway. 

Tim Ward and Todd Shute were out front for the IMCA Modifieds. Shute led early with Cayden Carter blowing by on the bottom side on lap six. A caution on lap 26 bunched the field and gave them a shot at Carter but it was not to be as The Gasman, already on the Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot, took the $2,000 win.

Kyle Brown finished second with Ward third, Joel Rust fourth and Shute fifth. 

Karl Kustoms Northern SportMods saw Bryan Morris and Garrett Nelson on the front row. Izac Mallicoat shot into the lead early Brayton Carter gapping the field to take the win by over a straightaway. Brothers Garrett and Colton Nelson finished second and third, respectively, with Mallicoat fourth and Dusty Masolini fifth. 

The IMCA Sunoco Stock Car feature started with Rowdee Van Genderen and Josh Pruitt on the front row. Brown would get to the top spot on lap three but it was Dallon Murty working the top side of the track to overtake Brown on lap 21 and go on to the win.

Brown finished second with Buck Schafroth third, Johnathon Logue fourth and Andrew Borchardt fifth. 

The top side took Dallon Murty to top Midwest Madness Tour IMCA Sunoco Stock Car Tour honors at Stuart Speedway. (Photo by Jim Zimmerline)

Andrew Akers and Mark Smith started out front for the Mach-1 Sport Compacts with Drake Bohlmeyer leading lap one. A couple yellows slowed the field but once they got going it was Bohlmeyer dominating to take the win. Owen Richards finished second with Tyler Fiebelkorn third, Kolby Sabin fourth and Zach Bohlmeyer fifth. 

Last up on the night’s action was the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks with Tom Killen Jr. and Solomon Bennett on the front row. Killen led the first three laps until Eric Stanton came through on lap four to take over the top spot.

Killen tried his best but Stanton was too strong and went on to the win. Killen finished second with Matthew McAtee third, Brandon Cox fourth and Bennett fifth.