34th IMCA.TV Dakota Classic Modified Tour starts Saturday in Jamestown

JAMESTOWN, N.D. (July 6, 2023) – Online entries continue to come in for the 34th annual IMCA.TV Dakota Classic Modified Tour.

The six consecutive night tour for Friesen Performance IMCA Modifieds and IMCA Sunoco Stocks Cars is again an international series with Estevan Motor Speedway in Saskatchewan back after a three-year absence due to the Covid pandemic.

At this point, drivers have pre-registered from 15 US states and a healthy contingent from Canada.

Modifieds will be running for $2,000 to win and $300 to start their 26-car features, along with Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational qualifying eligibility. Stock Cars will be paid $1,000 to win their 24-car feature events with B & B Racing Chassis All-Star qualifying eligibility awarded as well.

More than $140,000 in payout for the series will be paid and there is a $10,000 point fund between the two divisions for the top 10 in tour points. In addition, over $25,000 in contingency prizes will be awarded to the top 25 in Modified and top 20 in Stock Car tour points.

All six race programs will be broadcast by IMCA.TV. Single night broadcasts are $24.99 with a week-long subscription available for $124.99. Special discount to viewers with the IMCA.TV Replay Subscription is $114.99 for the week.

The tour starts in Jamestown at the quarter-mile Jamestown Speedway on Saturday, July 8. Minot is next at the three-eighth’s mile Nodak Speedway, located on the North Dakota State Fairgrounds track on Sunday, July 9. 

On Monday, July 10, the series goes international with the 3/8 mile Estevan Motor Speedway in Estevan, Canada. Williston, N.D., is next up on Tuesday, July 11, at their quarter-mile facility, located on the Upper Missouri Valley Fairgrounds.

Southwest Speedway in Dickinson and their quarter-mile track host night number five on Wednesday, July 12. The tour wraps up its six consecutive night run on Thursday, July 13 at the three eighth’s mile Dacotah Speedway in Mandan. 

IMCA national, regional and state points will be awarded and rules applied and enforced at all six stops on the tour.

Dave Brenn, IMCA’s executive director of competition, will be on hand at all six tracks to conduct pre- and post-race inspections of all cars in both divisions. Grant Oskvig will flag all races and John Gartner will once again be the tour director.

The tour has made significant efforts to make all start times at the tracks be consistent. All tracks will start their events at 7 p.m. However, two tracks – Estevan and Dickinson – are in time zones that are in effect one hour earlier.

Information has been posted on Facebook concerning road construction, along with any alternative routes to save time. Dakota Trackside of Williston is official parts supplier for the tour. They will have Hoosier tires, fuel, and a complete line of parts on hand. The tour uses AMB transponders for scoring and RACEceivers for race communication. Fans or drivers with questions can call Gartner at 701-202-6075.

Among the drivers pre-registered are IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals fueled by Casey’s champions Tom Berry (2022), Cody Laney (2021), Kyle Strickler (2014 and 2015) and Jeff Taylor (2012). Also pre-registered are former IMCA Modified national champions Berry (2020), Jason Wolla (2017) and William Gould (2013).

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply