Horn hauls to Drive For 5 feature win

CJ Horn scored the $1,000 Iowa Corn Growers Association Drive For 5 IMCA Sunoco Late Model qualifying victory at the Lee County Speedway in Donnellson, Iowa Friday night. (Photo by MF Photography)

By Brian Neal

DONNELLSON, Iowa (May 12, 2023) – Wins in back-to-back starts at Lee County Speedway saw CJ Horn capture his first Iowa Corn Growers Association Drive For 5 IMCA Sunoco Late Model victory on Friday night.

Horn and Jeff Guengerich drew the front row for the 25-lap feature, with Horn jumping out into the lead on lap one over Guengerich and Jeremy Pundt.

While Horn started to pull away, Denny Woodworth, Dalton Simonsen, who started 8th, Jay Johnson, who started 9th, and Tommy Elston battled Guengerich and Pundt in the top seven.

Despite heavy lapped traffic late in the race, Horn went on to claim his second win in a row at the track, with this one worth $1,000. Woodworth won the battle for second, Simonsen was third, Elston was fourth with Johnson coming home fifth.

Austen Becerra led from lap 11 to the finish in repeating as Friesen Performance IMCA Modified winner from a week ago. John Oliver Jr. outran ninth starting Derrick Agee for the IMCA Sunoco Stock Car checkers.

Sean Wyett edged out Jim Gillenwater at the line to claim his first Friesen Performance IMCA Northern SportMod win of the season at the track. Ninth starting Chevy Barnes held off his dad Josh in a caution-free race to claim his second Mach-1 IMCA Sport Compact win in a row.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply