Brian Mullen motors to $1,000 payday at Outagamie Speedway

By Edward Anschutz

SEYMOUR, Wis. (June 24, 2022) – One hundred and forty-two racers checked to do battle at Outagamie Speedway powered by EWSC Friday night, among them 37 Friesen Performance IMCA Modifieds, 39 IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars, 30 Friesen Performance IMCA Northern SportMods and 19 Mach-1 IMCA Sport Compacts.

The stage was set for the Modified main event as Brian Mullen jumped to the lead at the drop of the green as Shawn Kilgore gave chase.

A pair of early cautions allowed Mike Mullen and Tyler Wilson to challenge Kilgore for the runner-up spot. As the race reached the halfway point, Mike Mullen began to apply heavy pressure to Kilgore for second place.

Mike’s bid to chase down Brian went by the wayside on lap 13 as his car went spinning while side-by-side with Kilgore.

Brian pulled away from the field, collecting $1,000 on the day after his birthday and earning Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational qualifying eligibility with his second win of the season and IMCA career 129th.

Wilson was able to slip by Kilgore on the final lap to place second. Kilgore had to settle for third, Marcus Yarie placed fourth and Benji LaCrosse rounded out the top five.

Tim Paitrick and Tyler Wendt took their turns up front during the Stock Car feature until Eric Arneson used the middle groove to take the top spot on lap 10.

A lap later, the caution flew and allow Kyle Frederick and Kenny Richards, who started 18th, to close in. As the race resumed, Richards was first to pounce, working the low groove inside Arneson.

The duo ran door-to-door until three to go when Richards took sole possession of the lead.  Richards went onto score his first win of the season. Wyatt Block made a late race charge to place second, Arneson was third, Frederick took fourth and Jeff Steenberger completed the top five.

In Northern SportMod action it was Jason Jach leading until Elijah Koenig took over the top spot on lap five. Koenig never looked back, scoring his first win of the season. It was also a clean sweep for Koenig as he won his heat race earlier in the night.

Jordan Yahnke had his best run of the season to place second, Jeff Schmuhl took third after starting in 12th, Jach was fourth and Timothy Warner was the biggest mover placing fifth after starting 19th.

In the Sport Compacts, it was Kegan Van Ooyen leading all 20 laps enroute to his first career feature win. Last week’s winner Cody Booth was a close second, Thomas Schulte took third, Michael Brehmer placed fourth and David Cox was fifth.