Johnson sprints to Arlington checkers

Putting early-season engine problems behind him, Bill Johnson topped the Saturday night IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Car feature at Arlington Raceway. (Photo by Holli Reimers)

ARLINGTON, Minn. (June 11, 2022) – Saturday’s IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Car feature at Arlington Raceway went flag to flag with Bill Johnson leading from his pole position and finding himself the winner after having motor troubles the first night of the season which sidelined him for a few weeks. 

Mike Stien, who started ninth, moved through the field and took second ahead of Brandon Buysse. 

Cory Probst is on a mission this year as he has won every IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock feature thus far at Arlington. He started 10th and by lap three he was in third. Scott Porter had the early lead but later drove into the pit with troubles. 

Probst and Cory Black then battled for the lead and a caution came out when the 16R spun out. That gave Probst the opportunity he was looking for as he got by Black on the restart and never looked back, going on to win the race. Black took second and Jed Trebelhorn was third.     

The Mach-1 IMCA Sport Compact feature saw Stephanie Coopman lead after starting on the pole. Nate Coopman was trying to catch his wife after finding his way through the pack. 

Husband and wife battled until lap seven when Nate took the lead. Following a restart, R.J. Esqueda was able to get around Alan Lahr and join the top two drivers. On the white flag lap he got around Stephanie but had to settle for second as Nate took the win. 

Travis Schurmann led the first nine laps of the Friesen Performance IMCA Northern SportMod feature, which saw 18 cars begin the race. Newcomer Jared Boumeester took the lead on the 10th lap with Matt Looft following him from his 11th place start. 

Lapped traffic played a factor at the end of the race. With only two laps left the caution was thrown. On the restart, Looft got around Schurmann but Boumeester held on for the lead and the win. Eric Larson took third, just ahead of Schurmann at the finish line. 

The IMCA Sunoco Stock Car feature was a great race to watch as it, too, went flag to flag with 25 cars signing in to battle for the win.

Kevin Latour jumped out to the lead for several laps as second through fourth place went three-wide trying to catch up. Josh Larsen then took over the top spot on lap seven with Dan Eckblad right on his tail. By lap 13 Eckblad had the lead with Larsen chasing him around the track.

As the race was coming to a close with five laps left, Dan Mackenthun nosed his was to the front from his 13th place start to join the battle. The top cars were side-by-side for several laps. On the white flag lap, Eckblad pulled off as he had a tire go down. That gave Jim Horejsi, who had started 12th, a big break as he had moved up and challenged Mackenthun the last two laps but settled for second ahead of Looft.

The Friesen Performance IMCA Modified feature saw three different leaders. The first was Trent Loverude, then Jason Schroeder took the lead but that only lasted for one lap as Loverude reclaimed the lead the following lap. 

By lap seven, Dan Menk took over the race and stayed in the lead the remaining laps to win ahead of Loverude. Clint Hatlestad took third and Chad Porter took fourth.