IMCA Late Model win, Sunoco bonus go to Johnson

Sean Johnson earned the IMCA Sunoco Late Model feature win and $250 Sunoco Race Fuels bonus Sat­urday at Independence Motor Speedway. (Photo by Black Hat Photography)

By Jeremy Fox

INDEPENDENCE, Iowa (May 22) – Sean Johnson scored the IMCA Sunoco Late Model feature win and $250 Sunoco Race Fuels bonus Saturday at Independence Motor Speedway. 

Johnson took the race lead after two early restarts and pulled away from Curt Martin, Logan Duffy and Travis Smock before the caution came out on lap 17 for debris. Johnson held on leading the last eight laps to take the feature win and the Sunoco Race Fuels bonus. Martin, Duffy, Smock and Austin Russell rounded out the top five. 

Johnson’s victory was worth $850 in all.

Jordan Hicks flexed his IMCA Modified muscles because not even the cautions on lap two or on lap 12 him from adding his name to the history books of feature winners in Indee. Hicks took the win despite tenth place starter Troy Cordes trying to chase him down late. Ryan Maitland, Jason Briese and Kip Siems rounded out the top five.

Leah Wroten wrestled the early lead of the IMCA Sunoco Stock Car 20-lap feature event from fellow front starter Jerry Schipper. Wroten continued to lead as the battle behind her heated up with cars going two and three wide. 

Wroten worked the outside lane and Jason Doyle worked the inside lane. Doyle was able to make it work and take over the top spot on lap five. Doyle pulled away only to have lapped traffic slow him down, allowing Philip Holtz to get close, but Doyle did what he needed to do to hold off Holtz. Doyle went on to take his first-ever Stock Car feature win in Independence. Holtz finished second ahead of Jarod Weepie, Wroten and Tom Schmitt.

The IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock 15-lap feature event went caution free. Tyler Ollendieck leading all 15 laps despite several challenges early from Brett Vanous. With Ollendieck taking the win, Vanous held on to finish second. Kaden Reynolds worked his way to third, Luke Bird was fourth and Luke Schluetter was fifth.  

Logan Anderson, making the trip from Eddyville, took the top spot following a lap four restart in the Karl Kustoms Northern SportMod main. The caution came out two more times but Anderson held off all chal­lengers for his first-ever win in Independence. Kyle Olson came home second, Justin Becker was third, Tony Olson was fourth and Brandon Tharp was fifth.

Next Saturday is Rydell Auto Night at the Speedway with the IMCA Modifieds running for $1,000 to win in the Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot qualifier. Racing is at 6 p.m.