Shute dominates IMCA Modifieds at Stuart’s Durbin Memorial

Todd Shute dominated Stuart Speedway’s Jake Durbin Memorial feature for IMCA Modifieds Wednesday night. (Photo by Jim Zimmerline)

By Josh Reynolds

STUART, Iowa (May 12) – A dominating run ended with Todd Shute standing in victory lane at Stuart Speedway’s Jake Durbin Memorial.

Shute and Josh Gilman made up the front row of the IMCA Modified headliner, and Shute led Gilman and Matthew Meinecke early with the rest of the field two- and three-wide behind. 

Chase Rudolf made it to third on lap eight, but it was all Shute on this night as he drove to the caution-free win, worth $1,000. Already on the Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot, Shute won ahead of Gilman in second with Rudolf third. 

One hundred and thirty-four cars rolled into town for the Wednesday night show. Other IMCA winners were Damon Murty, Josh May, Brandon Cox, Hunter Longnecker and Craig Furstenau. 

Michael Jeannette and Bob Daniels led the IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars to the green flag next with Jeannette leading early. Damon Murty and Dallon Murty were picking them off throughout the 20 lap event and on the final restart it was Damon using the top side to get out front and take the win. Dallon finished a close second with Johnathon Logue third. 

May took control early and sailed to the IMCA STARS Mod Lite win. Cody Yaw finished second with Bryan Zehm third. 

Dylan Nelson and Austin Barnes were on the front row for the start of the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock feature. Nelson led the first nine laps with Cox muscling his way by on lap 10.

A caution with two to go bunched the field and gave everyone a chance at Cox, but he was too strong and held on for the win. Nelson finished second with Solomon Bennett third.

A pair of 93 cars brought the Karl Kustoms Northern SportMods out with Colton Nelson and Longnecker showing the field to the green flag. Longnecker controlled the pace early and often as he drove away from the field to take the comfortable win. Nic Runyan finished second with Brayton Carter close behind in third. 

Mach-1 Sport Compacts came to the speedway for the last race of the night with Owen Richards and Russell Klisaris out front. Klisaris led early until slipping to the infield off the bumper of Kolby Sabin. Furstenau took advantage of the restart to get out front and take the win with Curtis Masterson second and Mark Smith third.