Beckendorf gets opening night win at Kossuth County

By Greg Grabianowski

ALGONA, Iowa (May 6) – Brandon Beckendorf added another $1,000 IMCA Modified feature win to his early season tally on opening night Thursday at Kossuth County Speedway. 

Beckendorf started on the pole, took the lead immediately and was g-o-n-e, building a half straightway lead before an ugly yellow flag on lap 13.

On the restart, Beckendorf, already on the Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot, took the lead again and fought off a late challenge from a hard-charging Nick Meyer to earn the big payday. Meyer was the runner-up followed by Jeremy Mills. Kelly Shryock placed fourth and Austin Wolf rounded out the top five. 

Gerald Curry and Matt Looft led the Karl Kustoms Northern SportMod field to the flagstand for the green flag. Looft quickly grabbed the lead, was never challenged and completely dominated for the win.

Curry took second with Jared Boumeester third followed by George Nordman and Colby Fett. 

Shryock battled his way to the front of the IMCA Sunoco Stock Car field and cruised to the feature win. McCain Jennings and Calvin Lange were the early leaders before Shryock took charge on lap four and checked out. 

The battle was for second as Chad Palmer outlasted Derek Green. Lange was fourth and Jennings fifth.

Chris Krug was the leader for the first two circuits before Carter Koop wrestled the lead away on lap number three of the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock main.

Koop continued to hold the lead through three restarts and won his first feature at the track. Krug held on for the runner-up spot followed by Brandon Nielsen, Greg Sidles and Bryce Sommerfeld.

John Holt and Kaytee DeVries led the Mach-1 Sport Compacts to the flag-stand but the race was over early as DeVries led the entire race. Jaedon Erickson crossed the finish line second with Brandon Hartman taking third. Jade Lange placed fourth and Charles Prime rounded out the top five.