Five races, five different winners: Shebester takes Oil Capital checkers at Lawton

Steven Shebester raced from sixth starting to become the fifth different winner in as many AmeriFlex/Oil Capital Racing Series events for IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Cars on March 27 at Lawton Speedway. (Photo by Mike Howard)

By John Rittenoure 

LAWTON, Okla. (March 27) – Steven Shebester has run his share of laps around the Lawton Speedway.

However, Saturday was his first time to race there with the AmeriFlex/Oil Capital Racing Series IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Cars, and it turned out to be a night to remember. 

Shebester worked his way from the sixth starting position to win his first career race with the series and become the fifth different winner in as many 2021 races after passing polesitter Whit Gastineau for the win. 

Finishing behind Gastineau was 2018 champion Alex Sewell, three-time champion Zach Chappell was fourth and opening weekend winner Joe Bob Lee rounded out the top five.

Feature results – 1. Steven Shebester; 2. Whit Gastineau; 3. Alex Sewell; 4. Zach Chappell; 5. Joe Bob Lee; 6. Casey Wills; 7. Terry Easum; 8. Danny Wood; 9. Sheldon Barksdale; 10. Fred Mattox; 11. Jett Hays; 12. Chris Kelly; 13. Jeremy Allen; 14. Dane Fields; 15. Morgan Fletcher; 16. Brady Courtney; 17. Alison Slaton; 18. Jase Randolph; 19. Gary Owens; 20. Robert Sellers.