Schrader, Nichols star at Connie Jewett Memorial

Ken Schrader earned $1,000 and a Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot berth by winning the IMCA Modified feature at Dawson County Raceway’s Connie Jewett Memorial Championship Night. (Photo by Eldon Holmes)

By Kelly Ninas 

LEXINGTON, Neb. (Aug. 30) – Ken Schrader raced his way onto the Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot while Mike Nichols raced into another chapter in the IMCA record book at Dawson County Raceway’s Connie Jewett Memorial Championship Night. 

Schrader topped Sunday’s $1,000 to win, Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot qualifying main event for IMCA Modifieds, holding off Daniel Gottschalk as the 20-lapper wound down while hard charger Clay Money raced from the seventh row to finish third. 

Nichols, meanwhile, hustled to the IMCA Sunoco Stock Car checkers, equaling the all-time IMCA career wins record with his 557th victory. The Harlan Hustler later joined David Murray Jr., owner of 557 IMCA Modified wins, Schrader and promoter Chad Dolan for a post-race photo; the four own more than 1,200 combined IMCA wins. 

Casey Woken stayed with striking distance for much of the feature before settling for second behind Nichols.

When the smoke cleared, Blaine Walt was declared the victor in the Karl Kustoms Northern SportMod feature. Walt was able to earn the victory despite being involved in a last-lap incident that took out the leaders in the yellow-flag marred event.

Ty Rogers was in the right place at the right time as he earned runner-up honors after starting in the seventh row.

Taking advantage of the opportunity that presented itself, Luke Wassom grabbed the lead and held on to win the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock feature. Wassom was close behind when brothers Jacob Olmstead and Zach Olmstead made contact and lost momentum.

Wassom rocketed past. Jason Fusselman and Zach Olmstead made it close at the finish as the trio nearly passed the finish line side-by-side.

Brianna Maughlin was a force to be reckoned with as she set a blistering pace and finished strong in winning the Mach-1 Sport Compact feature. The victory came in her first visit to Dawson County.