Williams wins night one at Wheatshocker Nationals

Ty Williams was the night one Wheatshocker Nationals IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Car winner at RPM Speedway. (Photo by Carl Larson)

HAYS, Kan. (July 11) – The United Rebel Sprint Series Presented by Mel Hambelton Ford Rac­ing took on night one of the Wheatshocker Nationals at RPM Speedway Saturday night. A stacked 20-car field was in attendance and Ty Williams was the front-runner.  

Shane Sundquist and J.D. Johnson lined up on the front row of the 25-lap IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Car feature. Shane Sundquist took off with the early lead, but not without Koby Walters eager to grab the top position. 

Walters took the top spot and Ty Williams was next to challenge Sundquist for second place. A rim-riding Williams and Walters battled for the lead until lap 15 when Williams claimed the top spot.

Walters hung on to the second position until the last lap when hard-charger Jason Martin nipped him at the line to take the runner-up position with Walters settling for third.  

Feature results – 1. Ty Williams; 2. Jason Martin; 3. Koby Walters; 4. Shane Sundquist; 5. Jer­emy Huish; 6. Taylor Velasquez; 7. Todd Plemons; 8. Nate Berry; 9. Zach Blurton; 10. Kyler John­son; 11. J.D. Johnson; 12. Darren Berry; 13. Brian Herbert; 14. Willie Wynn; 15. Jed Werner; 16. Chad Salem; 17. Jody Reeves; 18. Cale Cozad; 19. Howard Van Dyke; 20. Steven Richard­son.