Bubak collects Bob Salem Memorial checkers

Jake Bubak was the Bob Salem Memorial winner when the United Rebel Sprint Series traveled to Oberlin Speedway on Aug. 18. (Photo by Don Holbrook, Freebird Motorsports Marketing)

OBERLIN, Kan. (Aug. 18) – Jake Bubak continued his winning ways in United Rebel Sprint Se­ries action Friday, topping the 25-lap feature Saturday at Oberlin Speedway’s Bob Salem Memo­rial.

The win was good for $700.

Bubak took charge from his outside front row starting spot from the onset and began stretching his lead, Jake Martens wrestled second from Mark Walinder on lap four and began the pursuit of Bubak in earnest.

Bubak proved he was the master through lapped traffic in the caution-free event as he captured his third feature of the year with the URSS and Martens settled for second. Third went to a rim-riding J.D Johnson as he passed both Jeremy Huish and Zach Blurton coming out of turn four to the checkers.

Blurton beating Huish to line as he was caught behind a lapped car. Johnson’s bold move earned him the Keizer Wheels hard charger award as he had started 13th.

In victory lane after receiving his winning custom plaque, Bubak signed the plaque and gave it to URSS and the Memorial race promoter Rick Salem in honor of Rick’s dad, Bob. Shortly after the checkers waved, the rain started and didn’t stop until around 9 a.m. the following morning, forcing track officials to cancel the scheduled night two of the event.

Feature results – 1. Jake Bubak; 2. Jake Martens; 3. J.D Johnson; 4. Zach Blurton; 5. Jeremy Huish; 6. Tracey Hill; 7. Scott Cochran; 8. Mark Walinder; 9. Jordan Knight; 10. Brian Herbert; 11. Shane Sundquist; 12. Darren Berry; 13. Tyler Knight; 14. Brandy Jones; 15. Buddy Tubbs; 16. Nick Nichols; 17. John Webster; 18. Chad Salem; 19 Lonnie Cox; 20. Aaron Ploussard.