Gould inherits opening night Red River Tour win

William Gould saw his Red River Tour luck change with the $1,000 IMCA Modified win Wednesday night at Southern Oklahoma Speedway. (Photo by Stacy Kolar, Southern Sass Photography)

ARDMORE, Okla. (July 1) – It’s not the way he wanted to win but William Gould went home with the $1,000 IMCA Modified checkers from Wednesday’s Red River South Tour opener at Southern Oklahoma Speedway.

Gould was third across the stripe but inherited the win when Tyler Stevens and Chaz Baca were both disqualified in post-race tech for front suspension violations.

Gould had gotten caught up in a fender bender in his heat race, won his ‘B’ feature and started the main event from 11th

“This was the first time we’ve even had a good run in the tour. It seems like we’ve always had motor problems or something before,” said Gould, who changed two flats on the trailer and got home about the time the sun was coming up the next morning. 

“The top of the track stayed dominant. At the start of the night the track was fast all over but it moved up as the night went on,” he continued. “We had a good run up to third and at one point I thought I had a second place car. I just couldn’t get there.”

Chris Elliott and Josh McGaha would round out the top three. Gould was already on the Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot.

Shelby Williams won both the IMCA Sunoco Stock Car and Smiley’s Racing Products Southern SportMod features at Ardmore.

Round two of the five-night Lone Star Super Gas Red River Tour South presented by Smiley’s Racing Products is Thursday at Grayson County Speedway.

Feature results – 1. William Gould; 2. Chris Elliott; 3. Josh McGaha; 4. Justin Whitehead; 5. Dustin Hyde; 6. Chad Melton; 7. Dillon Tindall; 8. Chris Bragg; 9. Mike Goodson; 10. Derek Scott Jr.; 11. Ken Schrader; 12. Brint Hartwick; 13. Garrett Gregory; 14. Mark Norris; 15. Fred Wojtek; 16. Clay Norris; 17. Larry Adams; 18. Jimmy Reeves; 19. Shannon Hartline; 20. Beau Collins; 21. Chris Morris; 22. Matt Guillaume; 23. Justin Radcliff.