Burgtorf tops first Drive For 5 at Donnellson

Mark Burgtorf is joined in victory lane at the Pepsi Lee County Speedway Friday night by car owner Lynn Richard and crew following his $1,000 Shottenkirk Parts Express Drive For 5 IMCA Sunoco Late Model win. (Photo by MF Photography)

By Brian Neal

DONNELLSON, Iowa (June 12) – Round one of Pepsi Lee County Speedway’s Shottenkirk Parts Express IMCA Sunoco Late Model Drive For 5 went to a driver well acquainted with the fast way around the oval at Donnellson. 

Mark Burgtorf pocketed the $1,000 Friday night victory in the Lynn Richards no. 15R ride.

Burgtorf and Matt Strassheim drew the front row for the 22-lap feature. While Burgtorf set a fast pace out front, Strassheim, Tommy Elston, Darin Duffy, Denny Woodworth and Dustin Griffin bat­tled for position behind him.

The first caution appeared on lap 11 following a multi-car tangle. Burgtorf moved back out front on the restart, with Elston, Duffy and Woodworth close behind. The final caution of the race came on lap 16.

Again, Burgtorf rocketed back out front on the restart with Duffy overtaking Elston for the runner-up spot. Duffy tried to keep pace with the leader but Burgtorf was too strong and picked up his first win of the season. Duffy was second, Woodworth got by Elston on the final lap to get third, with Griffin recovering from his involvement in the yellow on lap 11 to come back up to finish fifth.

The Shottenkirk Parts Express Drive For 5 is presented by Ideal Ready Mix, Floyd’s Waste Sys­tems, J.J. Nichting Company Case IH, Woodworth Attorney at Law, Triple Seven Trucking, Triple R Performance Engines, KQ92 and Big Country 103.1. Late Model drivers who run at least four out of the five qualifying nights have a chance to race for $5,000 to win during the finale on Satur­day, Sept. 12.

Ninth starting Michael Long was the IMCA Modified winner and Chad Krogmeier paced an IMCA Sunoco Stock Car main event that stayed green the last 17 circuits. 

Austen Becerra repeated his winning ways in the Karl Kustoms Northern SportMods and Jason Ash led from lap four to the finish in collecting the Mach-1 Sport Compact victory.