Eckrich becomes third Drive For 5 feature winner

Andy Eckrich picked up the July 17 Shottenkirk Parts Express Drive For 5 IMCA Sunoco Late Model feature win at Pepsi Lee County Speedway. The victory paid $1,000. (Photo by MF Photog­raphy)

By Brian Neal

DONNELLSON, Iowa (July 17) – The third installment of the Shottenkirk Parts Express Drive For 5 resulted in a third different $1,000 IMCA Sunoco Late Model feature winner Friday at Pepsi Lee County Speedway.

Andy Eckrich saw his drive to the checkers slowed by just a single caution, topping the 25-lapper ahead of Denny Woodworth and Dustin Griffin.

Eckrich and Woodworth drew front row starts, with Eckrich taking the early lead over Woodworth and Griffin. 

The team cars of Woodworth and Griffin tried to keep pace with Eckrich over the first half of the race but the leader steadily began to pull away from both. The only thing to slow Eckrich down was the only caution of the race, on lap 15.

Eckrich jumped back out front following the restart, with Woodworth and Griffin glued to his back bumper. He went on to lead the final 10 laps to score his first win of the season at Donnellson. 

Second night Drive For 5 winner Nick Marolf was fourth while Mark Burgtorf, winner of the first Drive For 5 feature, came from 13th to finish fifth. 

Drive For 5 is presented by Ideal Ready Mix, Floyd’s Waste Systems, J.J. Nichting Company Case IH, Woodworth Attorney at Law, Triple Seven Trucking, Triple R Performance Engines, KQ92 and Big Country 103.1. 

Feature results – 1.  Andy Eckrich; 2.  Denny Woodworth; 3.  Dustin Griffin; 4.  Nick Marolf; 5.  Mark Burgtorf; Tommy Elston; 7.  Jay Johnson; 8.  Matt Strassheim; 9.  Darin Weisinger Jr.; 10. Ray Raker; 11. Darin Duffy; 12. Sam Halstead; 13. Andy Nezworski; 14. Ron Boyse.