Pepsi Lee County crowns track champions

Sam Halstead won his first IMCA Sunoco Late Model feature of the season at Pepsi Lee County Speedway on Season Championship Night. (Photo by MF Photography)

By Brian Neal 

DONNELLSON, Iowa (Aug. 28) – Pepsi Lee County Speedway crowned five kings on Throwback Fan Appreciation Season Championship Night. 

Darin Weisinger Jr. led Jay Johnson most of the IMCA Sunoco Late Model distance, with Johnson gaining the front spot on lap 15. Sam Halstead took over the next time around, then held off Tommy Elston to the finish. Elston netted the track title with the runner-up finish. 

Michael Long pull away over the final laps to score the IMCA Modified feature win. Dennis LaVeine was second and track champion Jeff Waterman finished third. 

Abe Huls claimed the IMCA Sunoco Stock Car win. John Oliver Jr. was second and secured the 2020 track title. 

Brandon Dale pulled away following a lap 15 restart for his first local Karl Kustoms Northern SportMod win of the season. Adam Birck had troubles and finished 15th, still good enough to secure the track title.

Kimberly Abbott used the momentum off the top of turn four to edge out Brandon Reu at the line by inches for her first Mach-1 Sport Compact win of 2020 at Donnellson. Runner-up Reu was crowned the track champion.

All IMCA point standings become official on Oct. 26.