Johnson thrills in URSS return to WaKeeney

J.D. Johnson’s last-lap pass put him in victory lane when the United Rebel Sprint Series traveled to WaKeeney Speedway Saturday night.

By David Smith, Jr., OKTidbits

WaKEENEY, Kan. (Sept. 7) – J.D. Johnson made a daring move on the final lap to claim the Lucas Oil POWRi United Rebel Sprint Series presented by Mel Hambelton Ford Racing championship feature Saturday at WaKeeney Speedway. 

Johnson and Scott Cochran started on the front row for the 25-lap feature with Johnson taking the lead as the green flag fell. Cochran, Nate Berry, Austin McLean and Ty Williams filled out the top five with Johnson claiming lap one. 

Cochran took the lead on lap two with Johnson now giving chase. Berry took over the runner-up position on lap six before Johnson reclaimed that position on lap eight.  

Cochran approached slower cars on lap nine while Berry took back second from Johnson on lap 11. 

At midway it was still Cochran controlling the lead while Berry, Johnson, Williams and McLean the top five. Johnson got a run Berry to move back into the runner up position and set his sights on the leader. 

Johnson applied pressure on Cochran and on lap 19, got past to take the lead only to see Cochran retake the top spot one lap later. Johnson stayed on Cochran’s rear bumper until the last lap when Johnson stuck to the bottom entering turns one and two. 

The two made contact with Johnson gathering it up and taking the lead. The Wichita veteran went on to claim the $1,000 and his fourth career URSS victory and first since July 3, 2018. 

Cochran settled for second while sixth starting Luke Cranston got past Williams for third. Berry was fifth. 

Feature results – 1. J.D Johnson; 2. Scott Cochran; 3. Luke Cranston; 4. Ty Williams; 5. Nate Berry; 6. Jeremy Huish; 7. Austin McLean; 8. Jordan Knight; 9. Kyler Johnson; 10. Zach Blurton; 11. Tyler Knight; 12. Jed Werner; 13. Todd Plemons; 14. Ray Seemann; 15. John Webster; 16. Willie Wynn; 17. Darren Berry; 18. Mark Walinder; 19. Ken Lutters; 20. Ross Essenburg.