Richardson is best in URSS opener at Bullring Nationals

Steven Richardson was the winner by less that six-hundredth’s of a second in the opening night United Rebel Sprint Series Bullring Nationals event at Rush County Speedway. (Photo by Carl Larson)

LaCROSSE, Kan. (July 25) – The POWRi United Rebel Sprint Series Presented by Mel Hambelton Ford Racing took to the Bullring at Rush County Speedway and Steven Richardson maneuvered a last lap pass to claim the night one Bullring Nationals feature win. 

Zach Blurton and Jordan Knight set the pace for the 25-lap feature event for the IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Cars. Blurton took off with the early lead. Koby Walters and Jordan Knight fell in behind the race leader. Blurton finessed lapped traffic on lap seven, separating some distance between himself and the runner-up.  

A late race caution saw the field bunched back up. Some confusion on the restart called for mass chaos for front-runners Blurton and Walters. Both took off for the restart but the waving of the green had not yet occurred. Walters and Blurton tangled and restarted at the tail of the field, putting Knight into the top position. 

The green, white, checkered restart was one for the books and found Knight with the lead while Richardson was right there to challenge for the top spot. The two would Richardson got past Knight at the checkered, winning by just .057 of a second.

Connor Atkinson, Tyler Knight and J.D. Johnson rounded out the top five.  

Feature results – 1. Steven Richardson; 2. Jordan Knight; 3. Connor Atkinson; 4. Tyler Knight; 5. J.D. Johnson; 6. Jed Werner; 7. Kyler Johnson; 8. Taylor Velasquez; 9. Jeremy Huish; 10. Ray Seeman; 11. Zach Blurton; 12. Willie Wynn; 13. Koby Walters; 14. Ross Essenburg; 15. Howard Van Dyke; 16. Jody Reeves; 17. Monty Ferriera; 18. Chad Salem; 19. Darren Berry.