Deery Series doubleheader next at Maquoketa, Independence

Deery Brothers Summer Series

MAQUOKETA, Iowa – Deery Brothers Summer Series drivers return to a pair of famil­iar venues next week, with $2,000 to win features Tuesday, June 18 at Maquoketa Speedway and Wednesday, June 19 at Independence Motor Speedway.

Both IMCA Late Model main events pay a minimum of $300 to start. 

Maquoketa, the site of a dozen previous Deery events, opens the pit gates at 3:15 p.m. Racing follows 6:15 p.m. hot laps, with IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks and Karl Kustoms Northern SportMods on the program as well.

Spectator admission is $20 for adults, $18 for seniors and students and free for kids ages 12 and under, while pit passes are $30.

The Wednesday show will be the 30th held at Independence since 1987, the series’ inaugural sea­son. 

Pit gates open at 4:30 p.m., hot laps are at 6:30 p.m. and racing gets underway at 7 p.m. Also on the card are IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks and Karl Kustoms Northern SportMods.

Admission to the grandstand is $20 for adults, $18 for seniors, $15 for students and free for kids 12 and under accompanying a paid adult. Pit passes are $35.

The 492nd and 493rd events in series history make up the midweek doubleheader. Terry Neal of Ely leads all drivers with four career Deery wins at Maquoketa while hometown driver Curt Mar­tin’s six checkers are best at Indee.

IMCA.TV broadcasts the Independence Deery show.

Deery Brothers Summer Series top 20 point standings – 1. Justin Kay, Wheatland, 40; 2. Andy Eckrich, Oxford, 39; 3. Jeremiah Hurst, Dubuque, 38; 4. Tyler Bruening, Decorah, 37; 5. Ryan Dolan, Lisbon, 36; 6. Joe Zrostlik, Long Grove, 35; 7. Andy Nezworski, Buffalo, 34; 8. Matt Ryan, Davenport, 33; 9. Curt Martin, Independence, 32; 10. Tommy Elston, Keokuk, 31; 11. Chad Hol­laday, Muscatine, 30; 12. Tim Simpson, Iowa City, 29; 13. Terry Neal, Ely, 28; 14. Joel Calla­han, Dubuque, 27; 15. Luke Merfeld, Dubuque, 26; 16. Todd Malmstrom, Silvis, Ill., 25; 17. Dalton Si­monsen, Fairfax, 24; 18. Lee Kinsella, Peosta, 23; 19. Paul Nagle, Nevada, 22; 20. Darrel De­France, Marshalltown, 21.