Three get first IMCA wins of season at Davenport

By Mike McGuire

DAVENPORT, Iowa (June 1) – The Davenport Speedway kicked off the month of June in style Friday with three IMCA drivers collecting their first local feature wins of the season.

In Petersen Plumbing & Heating IMCA Late Model action, Chuck Hanna stole the show. Hanna easily won his heat race and then dominated the feature, leading 23 of the 25 laps.

Hanna took the lead from Joe Ross on lap three and never looked back. Matt Ryan moved up through the field to record a second place finish. Joe Ross, Andy Nezworski and Rob Toland, com­pleted the top five.

The Eriksen Chevrolet IMCA Modified feature had a similar story. A lap six restart gave Eric Barnes the opportunity to pass Craig Crawford for the lead. Barnes led the rest of the way. Bryce Garnhart came from mid-pack to finish second, while Chris Zogg went from deep in the field to take third.

Craig Crawford held on to fourth with Bruce Hanford completing the top five.

Jared Waterman won his first Hawkeye Auto IMCA Northern SportMod feature of the season. Mike Haines jumped out to the early lead in the race. Waterman took the lead and started to pull away. Following Waterman to the checkers were Mike Haines, Mike Adam, and Kyle Eller in that order. Henry Carson rounded out the top five.

Next Friday, June 8, brings the IMCA SportMod Challenge to the Davenport Speedway. $2,000 awaits the winner of the SportMod main. Weekly point racing will be held in all other classes.