Mroczkowski makes it two straight at Outagamie

By Scott J. Owen

SEYMOUR, Wis. (May 31, 2024) – Beautiful weather and a full pit area of 140 cars greeted fans Friday night at Outagamie Speedway.  The night began as the track honored long-time track worker Bob Wanner who recently passed away.

Feature winners on the night included Cory Kemkes, Johnny Whitman, and Tanner Pari who all scored their first local IMCA wins of the year, while Josh Mroczkowski made it two in a row.

Taylor Sorenson took command of the Friesen Performance IMCA Northern SportMod feature at the start of the race. Nearing halfway, Sorenson was challenged by Max Oreskovich and Kemkes. On lap 13, Kemkes dove underneath Sorenson entering turn three to take the lead away.

Sorenson continued in pursuit, but Kemkes would not be denied the victory. Kemkes scored the win followed by Sorenson and Jerry Vanderloop.  

The IMCA Sunoco Stock Car feature saw Junior Karcz grab the lead early on as Trent Nolan and Mroczkowski quickly joined the battle for the top spot. Karcz, Nolan and Mroczkowski raced three-wide for the lead on multiple occasions with Mroczkowski taking the lead on lap six.

Nolan followed into second as Rod Snellenberger moved to third. Snellenberger soon made his way past Nolan to take second on the track. Mroczkowski led the rest of the way for his second win in a row. Snellenberger, Nolan, Brett Wenzel and Brandon Czarapata completed the top five.

Cody Schroeder took the lead on lap one of the Friesen Performance IMCA Modified feature and quickly began to run away from the rest of the pack while Whitman raced his way to second on the track at lap eight.

By this point, Schroeder had built up a half-lap lead on his closest competition. Whitman began to chip away at Schroeder’s lead before a caution flag after lap 12 bunched the field up, erasing Schroeder’s advantage.

Whitman worked his way to the inside of Schroeder on lap 15 as the pair raced side-by-side. Whitman held the advantage at the line and drove to the victory. Schroeder finished second followed by Wyatt Block, Jason Ebert, and Tanner Jahnke. 

The Mach-1 IMCA Sport Compact feature saw Pari overcome an early spin in the race to come back and take the victory in a hard-fought battle with TJ Everard and Brett Deprez.  At the end it was Pari chased by Deprez, Bailey Tate, Thomas Schulte and Cody Booth.  

Racing will continue next Friday night with IMCA Stock Cars running for $1,000 to win and B & B Racing Chassis All-Star Invitational qualifying eligibility. Pits open at 4 p.m., the grandstands open at 5 p.m. and racing will start at 6:30 p.m.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply