RPM hosts 13th annual Cody Younger Memorial

Tyler Watts was first to the Friesen Performance IMCA Northern SportMod checkers during RPM Speedway’s Cody Younger Memorial show. (Photo by Carl Larson)

By Sheldon Wickwar

HAYS, Kan. (May 11, 2024) – Seventy-one teams checked into RPM Speedway Saturday for the 13th annual Cody Younger Memorial Race Night.

Connor Schwien was the show as Mach-1 IMCA Sport Compacts started the program with a 15-lap feature.

Schwien grabbed the early race lead, led by five car lengths just five laps in and went on to the checkers ahead of Rileigh Flohrs and Jakob Schwien.

The 20-lapper for IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks saw brothers Zach and Morgan Olmstead battle before finishing 1-2. Third was Tyler Heath.

Another big field of Friesen Performance IMCA Northern SportMods was on hand and Tyler Watts grabbed the early lead while Brianna Maughlin, Ryan Kirchoff and Blaine Walt were moving to the front.

Walt got to second and Kirchoff to third after getting by Maughlin on a restart. The field singled out by halfway: Lap 13 saw Tyler Watts enter lapped traffic but the caution came out the next time around.

Watts defended slide jobs from Walt and finally started to pull away. He held on for the win, second was Walt and third was Adam Weber.

Tathan Burkhart led early in the IMCA Sunoco Stock Car main but a three-wide battle quickly broke out with Kyle Pfeifer leading lap one. The top four cars were crammed in a shoebox for the first couple of laps but lap four saw Kyle Pfeifer pull away from Burkhart for the race lead.

Lap five saw Burkhart close in on the lead but could not quite get there. At the halfway point, Pfeifer led over Burkhart, Garrett Hager, Brandon Conkwright and Shaylon Holloway. The field would dissipate through the next few laps, and the top-four ran a single lane around the speedway.

Pfeifer led wire-to-wire to pick up the win, second was Burkhart and third was Hager. 

Kyle Pfeifer led the distance in the Saturday IMCA Sunoco Stock Car main event at Hays. (Photo by Carl Larson)

Friesen Performance IMCA Modifieds closed out the program. Their 20-lap feature event started with a front row of Jake Nightingale and Dalton Murphy.

Nightingale jumped out to a nice lead as Kyle Rohleder, Daniel Gottschalk and Clay Money charged to the front of the field. Four laps into the race, Brett Berry entered the top five after starting 16th. Lap seven saw Nightingale get into lapped traffic and Daniel Gottschalk closed in.

Three caution flew before Nightingale brought the field to a restart with eight laps remaining. Off the restart, Dakota Sproul got to the race lead as Gottschalk and Berry stormed to the front.

Sproul held on to win the race, second was Nightingale and third was Gottschalk.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply