Quick to find fastest line, Hibdon wins again at Cocopah

Win number two of the 2024 IMCA.TV Winter Nationals came Friday night for Kollin Hibdon, who led green to checkers for a $1,000 Friesen Performance IMCA Modified payday. (Photo by Garrett Kunzman)

SOMERTON, Ariz. (Jan. 12, 2024) – He wasn’t sure where the fastest line would be when the green flag flew, but Kollin Hibdon figured it out in a hurry Friday night.

Hibdon worked lapped track to perfection, leading the distance for his second $1,000 Friesen Performance IMCA Modified feature win of the 2024 IMCA.TV Winter Nationals at Cocopah Speedway.

Defending series champion Tim Ward, 2023 national champ Chaz Baca and Jerry Flippo were next across the stripe as drivers with Shaw Race Cars Western Region addresses or roots filled the top four finishing spots.

“I felt like a sitting duck. I wasn’t sure what line I would need to be in but I must have found the best one,” Hibdon said, after watching the track prep session that preceded the 25-lap main event. “I made sure I passed lapped traffic) as quick as I could.”

After running the bottom in the early circuits, Hibdon began moving up the oval as the caution-free race continued. Ward had started fourth, Baca seventh and both did their best to stay within hailing distance of the leader.

“Tim slid me at one point but I didn’t see him again after that,” said Hibdon, also the night four winner at Somerton and Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational qualifying eligible. “We’ve been racing Winter Nationals qualifying eligible. We’ve been racing Winter Nationals for a few years now and any time you can pick up one of these wins, it’s pretty special.”

Zane DeVilbiss, already B & B Racing Chassis All-Star Invitational eligible, topped the IMCA Sunoco Stock Car feature and Cam Reimers collected another Friesen Performance IMCA Northern SportMod victory, also worth $1,000.

Dillon Richards raced to the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock win and Oliver Monson paced the Mach-1 IMCA Sport Compacts for a third time.

Kevin Roberts and Cameron Starry ran 2-3 behind DeVilbiss while Morgan Olmstead was second and Jaeden Strandberg third in the Hobby Stock headliner.

Reimers led Tyler Bannister and Nathan Speten to the SportMod stripe while Chase Martin and Billy Foultz completed the Sport Compact top three.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply