Sunoco bonus awarded at Lee County’s IMCA Drive for 5 finale

DONNELLSON, Iowa (Aug. 23, 2023) – The last Sunoco Race Fuels bonus of the season will be awarded at Lee County Speedway’s Photo Daddy 50 “Drive for 5” finale on Friday night.

IMCA Late Models race for $2,000 to win their 50-lapper at Donnellson, with another $250 from division title sponsor Sunoco at stake. Drivers who have raced at a minimum of five of the seven Iowa Corn Growers Association-sponsored “Drive for 5” events this season vie for $5,000 to win.

Runner-up money is $1,500 with a minimum of $200 paid to start and $100 tow.

The top 18 in combined points from two sets of heats lock into the 24-car field. There will be a 10-minute break at lap 25 and drivers will be allowed to make any changes to their cars; those changing tires, however, will have to restart at the rear.

The Aug. 25 U.S. Cellular Season Championship night program also features Friesen Performance IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars, Friesen Performance IMCA Northern SportMods and Mach-1 Sport Compacts.

Gates open at 5:30 p.m. with hot laps at 7 p.m. and racing to follow. Spectator admission is $5 courtesy of U.S. Cellular with kids 10 and under free when accompanying a paid adult. Pit passes are $30 for adults, $20 for kids ages 7-13, $10 for ages 4-6 and $5 for three and under.

More information about the Friday race program is posted at

Late Model drivers can receive the Sunoco bonus one time in a season so the $250 would be given to the top finishing non-winning driver if the winner has already earned the bonus at another track.

Sunoco bonus recipients so far this season include Jake Bridge, Micah Brown, Curt Martin, Luke Merfeld, Jacob Kubicka, Eric Pollard, Alex Banks, Cade Richards, Matt Ryan, Nick Marolf, Dalton Simonsen, Justin Kay and Andy Nezworski.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply