Walrod Memorial checkers to Kinderknecht

STUART, Iowa (July 24, 2023) – Monday brought the Clint Walrod Memorial for suicide awareness to the Karl Chevrolet of Stuart International Speedway.

IMCA winners for the night were Jake Paysen, Nick Roberts, Skylar Pruitt, Taylor Kuehl, Todd Shute and Justin Kinderknecht.

Jake Paysen and David Kimmel paced the Mach-1 IMCA Sport Compacts for the first two laps when the red flag flew for third place running Owen Richards as he got upside down in turn one. Richards was ok but his night was over.

Once the green came back out it was all Paysen to the checkers as he took the win. Kolby Sabin finished second with Stephen Stiteler third, Kimmel fourth and Curtis Masterson fifth.

IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars came out next with Nick Roberts taking command early on. Rowdee Van Genderen and Austin Bouzek ran 2-3 until a caution flew on lap 13. Bouzek made it to second on the restart but it was still Roberts running strong at the front.

One last caution on lap 18 bunched the field up, but no one was taking this from Roberts as he drove to the win. Bouzek finished second with Van Genderen third, Buck Schafroth fourth and Todd VanEaton fifth.

Ethan Atcheson and Buddy Haidsiak put on quite a show over the first nine laps of the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock feature, trading the lead back and forth until the yellow flag flew. Haidsiak would lead lap 10 but that was all as Skylar Pruitt rocketed to the front the next time around.

Luke Ramsey followed past Haidsiak into second but would get no closer as Pruitt went on to the win. Ramsey settled for second with Rusty Bates third, Haidsiak fourth and Solomon Bennett fifth.

Friesen Performance IMCA Northern SportMods were up next and it was almost a repeat of the race before as Josh Sink and Jackson Harpole swapped the lead until a lap eight caution.

Sink led two more laps until Taylor Kuehl motored by on the bottom side of the track. Cam Reimers followed suit the next time around but Kuehl was too strong and drove off to the checkers. Reimers crossed in second with Brayton Carter third, Mitchell Morris fourth and Sink fifth.

Next up was the Friesen Performance IMCA Modifieds and it looked like Nick Roberts would pick up the daily double as he led the first quarter of the race. Todd Shute finessed his way into the lead on lap six and it was all over from there as he drove to the win, his career 99th in the division. Roberts finished in a distant second with Josh Gilman third, Chase Rudolf fourth and Martin Bennett fifth.

Stealth Racing IMCA STARS Mod Lites came out next for their 20-lap feature and it was Josh May looking strong in the early going. May had some contact that knocked him out of the running and it would be Justin Kinderknecht inheriting the top spot.

Mike Kennedy held the second spot through the duration but Kinderknecht was the class of the field on this night as he took the win. Kennedy finished second with Joe Glick third, Garrett Stonum fourth and William Nobles fifth.

The next race will be on Aug. 2 with the Jake Durbin Memorial. The six weekly classes will be duking it out for increased purses, along mechanics’ races and powder puffs and Hall of Fame voting.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply