Pollard prevails at Indee’s Osborn Memorial

Eric Pollard led every lap in winning the Denny Osborn Memorial feature for IMCA Sunoco Late Models Wednesday at Independence Motor Speedway. (Photo by Black Hat Photography)

INDEPENDENCE, Iowa (July 5, 2023) – Eric Pollard went from terrible on Sunday to lights out on Wednesday.

Pollard led every lap of the Denny Osborn Memorial main event for IMCA Sunoco Late Models at Independence Motor Speedway, earning $2,072 along with a $250 bonus from Sunoco Race Fuels.

“To come here and win this race was awesome. We were terrible on Sunday (at Dubuque,)” Pollard said from victory lane. “Having a good run tonight was just what we needed.”

Pollard started third in the 22-lapper and was chased every time around the track by Evan Miller.

The last restart came with three laps left and Miller was unable to muster a challenge, finishing three car lengths off the pace. Sean Johnson, Jeff Aikey and hard charger Logan Duffy completed the top five.

Another much accomplished local, Curt Martin, ended in sixth.

The win was the second of the season for Pollard, who’d finished third in both of his previous starts this season at Indee.

“This is a great event,” he said. “It’s cool that we were able to come here and win.”

Osborn, IMCA’s national champion in 1989 and a member of the Independence Motor Speedway Hall of Fame, died in May of 2021.

Other winners on opening night of the Buchanan County Fair were Dylan Thornton in the Friesen Performance IMCA Modifieds, Kaden Reynolds in the IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars, Tyler Ball in the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks, Brayton Carter in the Friesen Performance IMCA Northern SportMods, and William Michel in the Mach-1 IMCA Sport Compacts.

Reynolds was promoted to the top spot after Cole Mather was disqualified in post-race tech. Carter had started ninth and Ball led every lap of the Hobby Stock main, keeping Jacob Floyd at bay following each of three restarts late in the race.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply