Stocker joins parade of first-time winners at Arlington

Good Thunder’s Eric Stocker became the latest first-time winner to visit victory lane at Arlington Raceway, after topping the Saturday feature for Mach-1 IMCA Sport Compacts. (Photo by Sarah Moriarty)

ARLINGTON, Minn. (June 24, 2023) – An hour-long rain delay and more new drivers in victory lane made for an interesting race night at the Arlington Raceway on Saturday.

The Mach-1 IMCA Sport Compact feature saw Eric Stocker win his first feature ever as he led from start to finish to win the event, and just in time as he will be recuperating from shoulder surgery this week and will be unable to race.

Justin Dose took second.

In the Friesen Performance IMCA Northern SportMod feature, Charlie Rustman led the first 10 laps until Jeff Carter was able to get around him on the backstretch. The two raced side by side until Carter pulled away and won his first feature of the season. Rustman was the runner-up.

Jeff Carter won Saturday’s Friesen Performance IMCA Northern SportMod feature at Arlington. (Photo by Sarah Moriarty)

Zach Glaser won his first IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Car feature of the year as he led from start to finish from his front row position on the tacky track.

A first lap caution thrown when Matt Johnson and Mike Stien collided in turn three, sending Stien off the track. On the restart, Glaser  again took charge and won comfortably ahead Bill Johnson and Javen Ostermann.

Ryan Grochow led the first half of the IMCA Sunoco Stock Car feature with Mark Zimmerman and son AJ Zimmerman following. On the second lap, Andrea McCain spun in turn two and the cars of Looft and Mason Goettl couldn’t avoid her as they collided as well, sending all three cars to the pit area.

When the race resumed, Grochow again took the lead but Luke Trebelhorn and Dan Mackenthun collided, sending Trebelhorn’s car to a soft roll and landing on its side. He was not hurt, but both cars were done for the night.

Chad Schroeder, who had started 10th, was able to get around Grochow after the ensuing restart and remained the leader to win the race. Dan Eckblad moved up 13 spots in the race to take second ahead of AJ Zimmerman. 

And the Friesen Performance IMCA Modifieds saw a battle between Chad Porter and Clint Hatlestad as the two raced side-by-side for several laps.

After a restart Porter and Hatlestad again put on a show but it was Porter who was in first at the finish line to win his first feature of the year. Hatlestad took second and Todd Stinehart was third. 

The only repeat winner on the night was Cory Probst, who continued his perfect IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock season at Arlington.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply