McBirnie McMasters IMCA Modifieds at MoTown

Jake McBirnie’s first Friesen Performance IMCA Modified win this season at Marshalltown Speedway came on Friday night, paid $1,000 and made him eligible to qualify for the Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational. (Photo by Jordan Hanisch)

By Joyce Eisele

MARSHALLTOWN, Iowa (June 16, 2023) – Jake McBirnie pocketed $1,000 for his Friesen Performance IMCA Modified feature win on Friday, Midwest Liquid Systems Night at the Karl Auto Group Marshalltown Speedway.

McBirnie started on the outside front row in the 20-lap Night after the Creek main event and leaped to the immediate lead when the race went green.

He would go on to lead every lap on his way to the checkers to capture his first win at the speedway this season along with qualifying eligibility for the Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational.

Joel Rust and Maguire DeJong had a good battle going on behind McBirnie, with Rust winning out for second and DeJong taking third. Tripp Gaylord started 14th and finished fourth, and Paul Nagle completed the top five.

The Friesen Performance IMCA Northern SportMods saw Duane Peterson hold down the top spot in the early going of their 20-lap event, holding off Brady Hilmer and last week’s winner Jenae Gustin.

Gustin, who started 10th, took to the topside of the track and by lap four was in the lead. She was challenged at times by Travis Peterson and then by Sam Wieben, but it was to no avail. Gustin withstood all challenges and took home the win for the second week in a row piloting the rent a ride of Jason Pansegrau. 

Wieben finished as the runner-up, Kyle Olson raced from 12th starting to third, Travis Peterson was fourth and Tony Olson was fifth. 

The Stealth Racing IMCA STARS Mod Lites ran 15 laps for their main event and it was Josh May taking the checkers for the second consecutive week. May started ninth, and had the lead at lap five.

Jon Padilla ran the leader down and was giving a hard challenge to May when misfortune bit him when he lost grip in turn two and spun with just three laps remaining. May had no trouble on the restart when the race returned to green and would go home to the flying checkers, matching his win from last Friday.

Jason Masengarb finished second, third went to Cory Sonner, Mike Zemo Jr. came from 14th to finish fourth and Randy Bryan was fifth after starting 13th.

The IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars went non-stop in their 20 lap feature.

Early leader Garrett Corn previously of Merced, Calif., but who is now calling Marshalltown home, led the opening laps, but it was Michael Jaennette who came calling on lap three and took command.

Jaennette continued his run at the front as Austin Kaplan was slowly beginning to reel him in. On lap 14, Kaplan took over the lead, swinging to the topside.  He would then keep that lead the rest of the way to the checkers and the win.

Jaennette finished as the runner up, and trailing a distance behind in third place was Steve Meyer. Scott Rice and Jeff Wollam rounded out the top five. Kaplan also won the season opener back on April 28.

It was another 20-lap feature in the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks and much of this race was Eric Knutson fending off the likes of Dustin Filloon and 11th starting Calvin Dhondt.

Knutson had taken the lead at lap three and was throwing off challenges by them both as the laps wound down. Dhondt was finally able to establish the second spot and then with just two laps left in the race, was able to sneak under the leader coming out of turn two.

Dhondt held the top spot to the flying checkers and the win, his second in a row. Knutson had to settle for second, third went to Filloon, fourth was Corey VanDerwilt and Sam West came from 12th to finish fifth.

Friday night, June 24, is RBF Electric Night at the Races. IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks will be racing for $500 to win. Hot laps are scheduled for 6:55 p.m. with racing at 7:30 p.m.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply