Larson, Larsen are Saturday winners at Arlington

Eric Larson was quick to get to the front, then led the rest of Saturday’s Friesen Performance IMCA Northern SportMod feature at Arlington Raceway. (Photo by Sarah Moriarty)

ARLINGTON, Minn. (June 3, 2023) – They’re the seventh- and 54th-most common surnames in Minnesota but Larson or Larsen, however you spell it, was the most popular name in victory lane Saturday night at Arlington Raceway.

Eric Larson was the Friesen Performance IMCA Northern SportMod winner and Josh Larsen the IMCA Sunoco Stock Car winner.

Eric Larson started outside second row and by turn two was leading the SportMod main. Broddy Enter, who had started right behind him was trying to catch him but on lap seven Joey Reimers spun and brought out a yellow flag and a restart.

On the restart, both Matt Looft and Zac Davis got around Enter but Larson was holding strong to his front position. Another yellow flag came out when Zach Malchow spun. This time, Looft and Davis exchanged spots and Looft tried to run down Larson but had to settle for second ahead of Davis and Ben Reierson took fourth.

A.J. Zimmerman led the first two laps of the Stock Car feature from his front row start. Soon, Luke Trebelhorn had his mind set that he wanted the race lead and took over for the next four laps until Josh Larsen, who had started a row farther back from Trebelhorn, was able to get around him.

Larsen fought hard and held off hard-charging Dan Mackenthun and Tim Pessek and was able to finish the race ahead of them to win his first feature of the year.

The night sponsors had put up an additional $2,400 to a qualified driver to start in the back row and win the race but there were no takers. 

Josh Larsen topped the Saturday night feature in earning his first IMCA Sunoco Stock Car checkers of the season at Arlington Raceway. (Photo by Sarah Moriarty)

Brett Allen was best in the IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Car feature. Trent Loverude hotshoed it from eighth starting to first in the Friesen Performance IMCA Modifieds.

Cory Probst won again in the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks and Marschall Anderson led the distance in the Mach-1 IMCA Sport Compact main.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply