Blume, Bahrs, LeBarge add names to Maquoketa Speedway winners list 

By Jerry Mackey

MAQUOKETA, Iowa (June 3, 2023) – Maquoketa Speedway hosted the fifth night of the 2023 season Saturday on an a very warm night for early June. The racing action was outstanding with lots of close finishes on a very racy ¼-mile track. 

The Friesen Performance IMCA Modifieds saw a first-time winner for the 2023 season make his way to victory lane. Austin Blume drove a perfect race riding the extreme high groove besting a strong field.

Blume took command early from his second row start and led the 20-lap main for 18 laps in the race that went caution-free. Jeff Larson advanced from the fourth row to take second ahead of Ryan Duhme. 

Jason Bahrs also scored his first win of the season at Maquoketa topping the IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars. Bahrs took advantage of a front row start and led the race flag to flag in scoring the win ahead of Jerry Miles and Chase Zaruba. 

Ben Chapman is having an outstanding year in his new Friesen Performance IMCA Northern SportMod. Chapman started the feature from the 10th position and shot to the front, taking the lead on lap number four. 

Chapman went on to score his third win of the season at Maquoketa by getting to the checkers ahead of Jarrett Franzen and Levi Laymon. 

The Mach-1 IMCA Sport Compacts provided a wild race with a lap 10 caution sending the top three cars to the tail for two separate incidents that happened simultaneously.

When the race went green for the final two laps it was Trent LeBarge taking the checkers first ahead of Justin Hempstead and Brandon Koch. 

Veteran racer Randy LaMar scored another feature win in the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock division. LaMar led the brigade of 4’s to the finish line as the top four cars were all number 4. LaMar took the win ahead of Daniel Wauters and Jared Miles. 

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply