Becerra wins IMCA Modified thriller at Lee County

Austen Becerra climbed on top of his car to celebrate his last-lap pass for the win in the May 5 Friesen Performance IMCA Modified feature at Lee County Speedway. (Photo by MF Photography)

By Brian Neal

DONNELLSON, Iowa (May 5, 2023) – His last-lap momentum made the difference for Austen Becerra in the Friesen Performance IMCA Modified feature at Lee County Speedway.

Bill Roberts Jr. moved to the outside of the front row after Levi Smith was unable to answer the call and took advantage to grab the initial lead over Jadin Fuller and Dennis LaVeine.

Three early yellows slowed action but once back to green Roberts, Mark Burgtorf and Becerra put on the early candidate for race of the year as the three raced two- and even three-wide at times for the top spot, with Roberts holding them off at the line to be scored the leader.

Coming to the white flag, Becerra went to the bottom to show Roberts his nose. Going into turn three to get the checkered, Roberts came off the top to block Becerra, only to have Becerra use the momentum off the top of four to grab the checkered flag.

Burgtorf then edged Roberts at the line for second.

CJ Horn was the IMCA Sunoco Late Model winner, ahead of Jeremy Pundt and Dennis Woodworth.

Brayton Carter won another Friesen Performance IMCA Northern SportMod feature and Jason Cook topped the IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars.

Chevy Barnes held off a last-lap challenge from Chandler Fullenkamp, who started seventh, to claim his first career Mach-1 IMCA Sport Compact feature win. Brandon Reu came from ninth to finish third.

Coming up on Friday, May 12 will be the second of seven qualifying rounds of the Iowa Corn Growers Association IMCA Late Model Drive For 5, presented by Floyd’s Waste Systems, JJ Nichting Company Case IH Company, Ideal Ready Mix, Triple 777 Trucking, Woodworth Attorney at Law, Triple R Performance Engines, B&B Propane, Budweiser, Conrad Trucking, Donnellson Tire & Service, KQ92, and Big Country 103.1.

Gates open at 5:30 p.m. with hot laps at 7 p.m. and racing to follow.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply