Egbert answers when Lone Star Tour opportunity knocks at Devil’s Bowl

G.W. Egbert IV scored his first IMCA Sunoco Stock Car feature win of the season Monday at Devil’s Bowl Speedway, in the third round of the Lone Star Tour. (Photo by Stacy Kolar, Southern Sass Photography)

MESQUITE, Texas (March 6, 2023) – Opportunity knocked and G.W. Egbert IV answered Monday night, in the third installment of the Sunoco Race Fuels Lone Star Tour presented by Sniper Speed.

Egbert drove to the inside to pass Angel Munoz and race-long leader William Gould coming to the line on the 19th of 25 laps, then kept Munoz and Cody Smith at bay for the $2,000 IMCA Sunoco Stock Car checkers at Devil’s Bowl Speedway. 

“I was just waiting and sizing them up,” said Egbert, who had worked his way into contention from the ninth starting spot. “As long as I hit my marks, I knew I would be right there.”

Gould and Munoz had run 1-2 through three early cautions. Egbert was in third for good by lap 15 and took advantage when an open lower line presented itself four laps later. 

The new B & B Racing Chassis All-Star Invitational candidate got the win just under a tick under a second ahead of Munoz, with Sunday winner and tour points leader Smith, Gould and Lance Hanson Jr. completing the top five. 

Robert Vetter led start to finish in the IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Car feature and two-car star Smith made it three straight wins in the Smiley’s Racing Products IMCA Southern SportMods.

Vetter drew the pole and pocketed $1,500 for the victory in the first RaceSaver event of the season. Kevin Ramey ran second and Cody Price took third. 

Smith followed wins Saturday at Kennedale and Sunday at Mesquite with his most convincing tour outing, crossing the stripe 13 seconds ahead of Steven Ashcraft for a $750 payday.

Third was Elliott Davis. 

Touring Stock Cars again get top billing for the Tuesday night at Devil’s Bowl, with racing set for 7 p.m. Both the RaceSaver Sprints and Southern SportMods return to the card as well.

The final two Lone Star Stock Car Tour shows are at Heart O’ Texas Speedway in Waco Wednesday, March 8 and Thursday, March 9.

All tour events are broadcast by IMCA.TV.

Feature results – 1.  G.W. Egbert IV; 2. Angel Munoz; 3. Cody Smith; 4. William Gould; 5. Lance Hanson Jr.; 6. Paul White; 7. Ryan Powers; 8. Jeffrey Abbey; 9. Jesse Sobbing; 10. Shelby Williams; 11. Kyle Genett; 12. Trevor Egbert; 13. Blake Clark; 14. Billy Vest; 15. Elijah Zevenbergen; 16. Justin Luinenburg; 17. Dean Abbey; 18. Travis Hatcher; 19. Michael Dabney; 20. Jason Rogers; 21. Jared Siefert.