Wilson pockets Tex Myers 8Ball Classic cash

Blake Wilson raced back to the $888 IMCA STARS Mod Lite checkers at Diamond Park Speedway’s Tex Myers 8Ball Classic. (Photo by Chaz Brzeski, RFS Photography)

By Justin Newman

MURFREESBORO, Ark. (July 2, 2022) – Blake Wilson repeated his performance, this time not so easily, in the second annual Tex Myers 8Ball Classic presented by Myers Supply Saturday at Diamond Park Speedway.

Wilson was able to top a field of 27 IMCA STARS Mod Lite drivers from Arkansas, Texas and Louisiana en route to his second $888 payday in the second year of the event at the proclaimed Mod Lite Capital of the World.

Wilson started on row two of the 25-lap affair and had some work to do early on, contending with TWR teammate J.J. Borden, Louis Harris and Jace Reid.

It was Reid who got out to the point early with Borden, Harris and Wilson in tow. Quick work put Wilson digging behind Borden for third and on lap three he settled in for second. On lap seven he slid under Reid and it was off to the races.

The lead duo pulled away and started working the back of the field by lap nine before the race’s single caution flew on lap 11.

On the restart, Reid picked the outside line and by this time the seventh starting Chad Kirkpatrick had made his way passed Borden and was in third. The lead group of four broke away again and the battle was for second between Reid and Kirkpatrick.

The leaders again were in lap traffic by lap 19 and Wilson’s lead evaporated quickly. The lead group battled it out over the final five laps and Wilson held them off for his second win of 2022 at Diamond Park and repeat as the event winner. He was followed by Reid, Kirkpatrick and Borden.

He also picked up the $200 quick time award presented by Beene’s Towing and Recovery, as well as pick up the $250 podium bonus from IMCA and Yoshimura. His bonus money continued as he led 19 of the 25 laps and picked up an extra $25 per lap on eight of those circuits.

Bonus monies were paid out by generous race sponsors Arkadelphia Tire & Outfitters, RCM Racing and Caleb’s Legacy, Alban Automotive and Landon Crawly Racing.

Reid and Kirkpatrick also picked up extra cash in the Yoshimura podium bonuses of $150 and $100, respectively.

The $100 hard charger was 12th place finisher Bobby Garth and  10th place Andrew Lincoln received a Hoosier Tire certificate from ModLite STARS. Heat race winners Wilson, Kirkpatrick, Borden and Reid all received certificates from Rod End Supply.

“B” Main winner was Cameron Beene and he received a Hoosier Tire certificate and product certificate from Rod End Supply. The $100 longest tow bonus went to Charles Armstrong of Joshua, Texas.

The next race for the STARS Mod Lites will be July 16 as a regular show and again on July 23rd at Diamond Park for $1,000 to win and $200 to start.

Feature results –  1. Blake Wilson; 2. Jace Reid; 3. Chad Kirkpatrick; 4. J.J. Borden; 5. Paul McCollett; 6. Steve Sweere; 7. Justin Hughes; 8. Chris Tucker; 9. Louis Harris; 10. Andrew Lincoln; 11. Grant Rollins; 12. Bobby Garth; 13. Chloe Tucker; 14. Paul Alban; 15. Cody Rogers; 16. Skyler Starr; 17. Fisher Tucker; 18. Cameron Beene; 19. James Stuenkel; 20. David Heard; 21. Brock Byers.