Arlington Stock Car checkers fly for Lund

Curt Lund was the Saturday night IMCA Sunoco Stock Car winner at Arlington Raceway. (Photo by Sarah Moriarty)

ARLINGTON, Minn. (June 25, 2022) – Saturday’s IMCA Sunoco Stock Car feature at Arlington Raceway saw a new car in victory lane but not without a battle first.

Andrea McCain led the first seven laps before getting too high following a restart and seeing Curt Lund take over the top spot. Tim Malchow started ninth and worked his way to second but couldn’t get around Lund as the cars behind him were all vying for the top spot, too, with three- and four-wide racing. 

In the end Lund won the race, Malchow took second and Chad Schroeder took third.

Cory Probst again pulled off the feature win in the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock feature, which was tainted with a late race crashes on laps nine and 10. Chad Volk took second over Moriah Trebelhorn and Todd Sievert.

There were three different leaders in the Mach-1 IMCA Sport Compact feature. David Marshall led the first two laps, then Alan Lahr took over the top spot until lap nine when Nate Coopman got around him. R.J. Esqueda tried to challenge Coopman but ran out of laps and settled for second. Lahr was third. 

Ben Reierson had his Friesen Performance IMCA Northern SportMod dialed in and led the first  half of the flag-to-flag race. 

Zach Davis moved up from his seventh place starting spot and seemed to be flying around the track. He took the lead while Matt Looft was battling with Jeff Carter and Eric Bassett to get up with Davis. 

Davis was able to dethrone Looft as he took the checkered flag ahead of him and Carter.

A first-lap crash in the IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Car feature saw Bill Johnson and Hannah Graf tangle, which ended Johnson’s night. The cars were lined up and restarted with Mike Stien taking over and leading the entire race. 

By the second lap, Trevor Serbus moved from eighth starting to challenge Stien, who held on for the win ahead of Serbus and Matt Johnson.

The Friesen Performance IMCA Modifieds saw three different leaders with Rick Schroeder and then Todd Stinehart in front early.

Dan Menk, who started ninth, was in the mix by lap six and got around Stinehart on the following lap. Trent Loverude was then putting pressure on Menk by lap nine but Menk held on for the win. Loverude took second and Stinehart took third.