33rd IMCA Dakota Classic Tour primed for July 9-14 run

MANDAN, N.D. ­(June 13, 2022) – The 33rd annual Corral Sales IMCA Dakota Classic Modified Tour powered by Industrial Electric has made a few changes to its format but the core mission of the Tour, to bring the best from IMCA to North Dakota each July, remains the same. 

Grant Oskvig will be the new tour flagman and IMCA.TV will be live streaming all six nights of the tour. All tracks have agreed to start at 7 p.m. for the first time and once again, IMCA rules will be used at all tracks in both the Friesen Performance IMCA Modified and IMCA Sunoco Stock Car divisions.

The series starts its six-night consecutive run on Saturday, July 9 at the quarter-mile, high-banked Jamestown Speedway. They have pit parking for over 300 vehicles and camping right next to the track.

Minot and Nodak Speedway host round two on Sunday, July 10. Nodak is a 3/8-mile high-banked facility on the North Dakota State Fairgrounds.

On Monday, July 11, the tour heads west to Williston Basin Speedway and a quarter-mile, high-banked track located on the Upper Missouri Valley Fairgrounds. Again, camping is allowed right next to the track. 

Southwest Speedway in Dickinson is next up on Tuesday, July 12. The high-banked quarter-mile oval is located 10 miles south of town on State Highway 22.

The Tour wraps up in Mandan for a double header on Wednesday and Thursday, July 13-14, at the 3/8-mile, high-banked Dacotah Speedway. They have three pit areas and camping is allowed at the track.  

The payout is the same at all tour venues with the Modifieds running for $2,000 to win and $300 to start each 28-car feature event. All Modified non-qualifiers receive $100 in tow money for all shows. Stock Car drivers will be running for $1,000 to win and $100 to start their 24-car features.

Feature winners become eligible to qualify for the Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational for Modifieds or the B & B Racing Chassis All-Star Invitational.

More than $20,000 in contingency prizes will be awarded to the top 25 in tour points for the Modifieds and the top 20 for the Stock Cars. There is a one-time $25 online registration fee that will be refunded to drivers when they enter their first tour race. 

Drivers can enter by going to: dakotamodtour.com and follow the prompts. Fans can see the daily entries on the Tour’s Facebook page. 

Iowa transplant Tim Ward was the 2021 Modified tour champion and Zachary Madrid from Arizona is the defending Stock Car tour champion. Both drivers have already entered this year’s event; 2022 tour champions become eligible to qualify for their respective race of champions at the upcoming IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals fueled by Casey’s. 

The same officials will be at all tracks and the same procedures will be used to make sure the playing field is fair. Passing points will be used for all feature lineups. John Gartner again serves as the tour director. He can be contacted at 701 202-6075 for more information.