Perris fans salute Morris following Saturday IMCA Modified win

Kyle Morris picked up $1,000 and Fast Shafts All-Star qualifying eligibility for winning the Friesen Performance IMCA Modified main event at Perris Auto Speedway Saturday night. (Photo by Kenny Lonngren)

PERRIS, Calif, (May 28, 2022) – Kyle Morris took the lead on lap nine and led the remaining 11 circuits to claim the $1,000 to win Friesen Performance IMCA Modified main event during Perris Auto Speedway’s Salute to Indy Saturday night. 

April winner Matt Hicks and Randy Thornell rounded out the top three.

“You need to have interviews with me more often about how much I don’t win because obviously, it’s good luck,” the happy winner, who was resplendent in red suspenders, joked to infield announcer Chris Holt.  “Every time I saw a car down there (running on the bottom) I was holding my breath.  It has been so long since I have been up here, I tried to keep that out of my mind.”

The IMCA Modifieds will be back at Perris Auto Speedway on June 25 for the first annual Bubby Jones/Ray Sheetz Memorial.