Sabin starts IMCA winners’ parade at Stuart Speedway

By Josh Reynolds

STUART, Iowa (May 22, 2022) – Kolby Sabin started the parade of IMCA feature winners Sunday evening at Karl Chevrolet of Stuart International Speedway.

Mach-1 IMCA Sport Compacts were the first sanctioned division on the speedway with Elijah Hoyt and Mitchell Bunch pacing the field. Hoyt led early with Bunch getting by on lap four. Bunch held the top spot until Sabin cruised by on lap eight. 

Tyler Fiebelkorn followed Sabin into second but couldn’t close the deal as Sabin went on to the win. Fiebelkorn finished second with Bunch third.

Josh Pruitt and Jeremy Gettler brought the IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars out with Gettler getting the advantage early on. Cautions on laps nine and 10 were the only thing slowing Gettler down as he led the distance to take the win. Buck Schafroth crossed in second with Pruitt third. 

Blake McCann and Buddy Haidsiak led the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks out to the track with Haidsiak leading the first two times around. Eric Stanton muscled by on lap three and was never seriously challenged as he sailed to the win ahead of Seth Butler and Haidsiak third. 

And in the Friesen Performance IMCA Northern SportMods, Bryan Morris and Mike Dullard on the front row. After a couple of extended cautions, it was Morris out front and looking strong through the first nine laps. 

Izac Mallicoat came to the top spot on lap 10 and looked like he was strong enough to hold off the field, but Brayton Carter had other plans. 

Carter worked high and low and finally was able to take advantage of a lapped car on the 16th circuit to take the lead, one he wouldn’t give back as he took the hard-earned win. Mallicoat finished second with Tyler Inman third.