Mackenthun aces Arlington Stok Car feature

Dan Mackenthun was the third and final leader in the Saturday night IMCA Sunoco Stock Car feature at Arlington Raceway. (Photo by Sarah Moriarty)

ARLINGTON, Minn. (May 21, 2022) – Great fans and great racers heated up the chilly temperatures Saturday at Arlington Raceway. There were several repeat feature winners but each event saw close, tight racing.

Taylor Manderfield started in the front row of the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock feature and led four laps until hard-charging Cory Probst moved up from the last starting spot to take over the race. He had another clean sweep, winning his heat race and the feature. Melvin held on for second and Chad Volk moved up from his eighth place start to take third. 

Justin Forcier started on the front row of the Mach-1 IMCA Sport Compact feature and, despite a yellow flag on the first lap, was able to lead the field around the track for six laps until 12th starting Nate Coopman moved to the front. Forcier lost his momentum and Coopman got around him to take over the race and the win. Forcier settled for second ahead of Gary Schumacher. 

The Friesen Performance IMCA Northern SportMod feature saw 19 cars in the feature. Broddy Enter took the early lead ahead of Bryan Spaude and the two raced side-by-side with Mike Kennedy driving between the two to gain positions ahead of them.

Matt Looft got around Enter following a lap six restart and stayed in front to the finish. Tony Stephensmeier edged past Kennedy and Enter to take second.

A couple yellow flags slowed the start of the IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Car feature. Once the race actually got started, Brett Allen led from start to finish to pick up his first feature of the year. Mike Stien started seventh and moved up to second.

There were three different leaders in the IMCA Sunoco Stock car feature. Randy Melvin was the early leader as cars were racing three- and four-wide on the first lap with Chance Larson and Dan Mackenthun all racing together and exchanging the front spot for several laps.

A yellow flag was thrown when Melvin had troubles on the backstretch on lap 14, By then, Mackenthun had the lead but Ryan Bjerkeset had his sights set on him. With only two laps to go, another yellow came out when Larson exited the track and Bjerkeset lost an engine. On the restart, Matt Looft joined Mackenthun as well as Tim Pessek but Mackenthun rounded the fourth turn first to win ahead of those two.

The Friesen Performance IMCA Modifieds saw two different leaders with Chad Porter up front first but then it was all Clint Hatlestad leading the remaining 14 laps. Dalton Magers took second ahead of Todd Stinehart.