Shebester becomes first repeat OCRS winner at 81 Speedway

Steven Shebester’s Saturday night victory at 81 Speedway made him the first repeat winner this season in Oil Capital racing Series action.

By John Rittenoure 

PARK CITY, Kans. (May 21, 2022) – It took eight events but a repeat winner has finally emerged in the AmeriFlex/Oil Capital Racing Series.

Steven Shebester, who won the March 4 IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Car series season opener at Red Dirt Raceway, fought his way past a determined Kyle Clark and went on to win the 25-lap feature in a combined event with the Drive to Zero United Rebel Sprint Series presented by Mel Hambelton Ford Saturday at 81 Speedway.  

Shebester started outside front row and gunned into the early lead. But fourth starting Kyle Clark drove around Shebester for the lead on lap 10. 

“He kept his momentum up and the lapped cars kept me bound up,” Shebester said of losing the lead to Clark. “I got a little worried when he passed me. But I just stayed steady and gained on him the next lap so I figured I would just stay where I was at and figured I would get him back and it went pretty good for me.” 

Shebester reeled Clark and took the lead back on lap 15. Shebester pulled away on the final laps for his 12th OCRS career victory. Clark held on to second for the second straight night. Clark had finished second at Tulsa Speedway on Friday. 

Sheldon Barksdale held on to third after starting on the pole. 

Feature results – 1. Steven Shebester; 2. Kyle Clark; 3. Sheldon Barksdale; 4. Whit Gastineau; 5. Blake Edwards; 6. Zach Blurton; 7. Jordan Knight; 8. Zach Chappell; 9. Steven Richardson; 10. Jake Martens; 11. Jeremy Campbell; 12. Luke Cranston; 13. Kohl Ricke; 14. Jeremy Huish; 15. Rees Moran; 16. Jon Freeman; 17. Ray Seemann; 18. Zak Moore; 19. Connor Atkinson; 20. Terry Easum.