A night of firsts on memorable night at Benton County Speedway

2021 IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock national champion Kaden Reynolds drove to the first IMCA Sunoco Stock Car win of his career Sunday night at Benton County Speedway. (Photo by Jim Wittke)

VINTON, Iowa (May 15, 2022) – Milestone wins were the theme Sunday night at Benton County Speedway as multiple drivers earned career firsts on the quarter-mile Bullring.

The charge of first-time winners was led by 2021 IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock national champion Kaden Reynolds who motored to the first win of his career in the IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars presented by Vermedahl Logistics.

The first-year Stock Car driver started inside row three and quickly sliced through traffic to assume the early lead. Dallon Murty, who started alongside Reynolds, chased the division rookie to the front of the pack.

Reynolds built a two-second lead by the time Murty made his run to second and extended his advantage throughout to score the convincing win. Murty ran second ahead of Leah Wroten and Norman Chesmore.

Bradly Graham was among five competitors battling for the early lead in the 15-lap main event for the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks.

Graham emerged with the race lead a few laps into the event, then pulled away from the pack to earn the first win of his career in the division. Matt Brown held off Brett Vanous for the runner-up spot and Dalton Weepie finished fourth.

Dallon Murty has experienced much success throughout the first few years of his career in an IMCA Stock Car. He added to those accomplishments by scoring his first speedway win in the Friesen Performance IMCA Modifieds presented by KISS Country 96.5.

Murty, whose first win in the open wheel division came late last year at Marshalltown, chased down pole-sitter Ryan Maitland in Sunday’s 20-lapper before making his way out front a few circuits into Sunday’s main event on the way to his first Vinton win in the division. Murty pulled away in dominant fashion to score the victory ahead of Maitland, Chris Snyder and Troy Cordes.

Kolby Sabin made the two hour drive from Des Moines to finish his night in victory lane following the 12-lapper for Mach-1 IMCA Sport Compacts.

From a fifth row start, Sabin passed Trystin Belthuis at around midway to drive to his first Bullring win. Lukas Rick and Blake Driscoll ran third and fourth.

Tony Olson made a thrilling late race pass to secure the win in the Friesen Performance IMCA Northern SportMods presented by Christie Door Company.

After a number of stoppages slowed action early, Olson, who started in row five, found himself positioned behind race leader Ben Chapman on a restart with two laps to go. Olson worked the top side around Chapman to steal the win, his second straight. Chapman, Kaylin Lopez and Brett Thomas rounded out the top five.

Dave McCalla protected the bottom groove to perfection and withstood persistent pressure from Michael Weber and then Jordan Miklas to take top honors in the 15-lapper for the INEX Legends presented by Legends.Direct. Miklas ran second, Weber was third and Kacey Korsmo completed the top four.

Weekly racing resumes next Sunday, May 22, for all divisions and will be headlined by $1,000 to win in the IMCA Stock Cars.